HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 14, 2013, 05:11 PM
United States, IN, Bloomington
Joined Oct 2012
4 Posts
Discussion
Ideas & Thoughts

I am new to steam and am currently planning my first steam boat. I have studied the subject a lot and still have a few questions. I tend to plan and think things out for long periods of time before building. Buying a new lathe next month and looking to start the construction of the engine/boiler.
1, On model steam boats is there a device that will transmit or relay the boiler pressure and water level back to the controller?
2, I am thinking of using propane to fuel my boat. Is there a system that will use boiler pressure to control the flame? If not could i use a pressure switch off an air compressor or well pump to control a solenoid valve to turn the propane on and off. I know to do that it would need a pilot light or electric lighter device to work that way?
3, Is there a automatic pump to keep the water level up in the boiler?
Just a few things I have been pondering, not a lot of information on these things online. Thought I would ask. also if anyone has tips on hobby lathes as to what ones a good and what to stay away from and such I would love to hear from you.
Shultzy is offline Find More Posts by Shultzy
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 14, 2013, 05:57 PM
Joined Sep 2012
71 Posts
The answer is probably yes to all of your questions.
I use LPG to raise steam and control this via an attenuator this controls gas supply and flame in relation to pressure.
To my great surprize it works really well.
The engine is a Borderer built using a Chinese lathe.
Saltwell Park model boat club steam launch (1 min 45 sec)
Steam up is offline Find More Posts by Steam up
Old Jan 14, 2013, 06:55 PM
Damp and Dizzy member
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Joined Aug 2003
3,411 Posts