HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 23, 2011, 05:49 PM
United States, NC, Greensboro
Joined May 2011
39 Posts
Discussion
Balsa Electric/Sailplane kit recommendations, anyone?

Hi folks--

I'm a total newbie here, but looking for a quality balsa kit for an electric sailplane to build while I learn to fly on something ARF/RTF-like. I've tried a couple searches of the threads here, but you guys have compiled such a huge forum that the results have been mind-boggling.

I'm looking for something in the one- to two-meter wingspan neighborhood, that might be good for thermal-cruising or just having fun drifting down off of powered ascents. It'll likely be flown in middle Ohio (father-in-law's place near Cleveland) rather than near my home in NC., so slope soaring won't be a realistic use for it.

Thanks in advance for any help you folks can provide.

Mike
EightOhMike is offline Find More Posts by EightOhMike
Last edited by EightOhMike; Jun 23, 2011 at 05:54 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 23, 2011, 10:56 PM
Making wood fly since 2007
USA, MN, Rochester
Joined Mar 2008
2,533 Posts
Hi Mike,

Welcome to the addiction. There are many very good planes out there for builders. When it comes to first builds the list of recommended planes usually goes something like this: (in no particular order)

Sig Riser 2M
Sig Riser 100"
Oly II
Gentle Lady
Chrysalis
Bird of Time
Any of Ray's Bird series of planes
Grand Illusion

Honestly these are all fine planes and you would do well with any of them. If you are willing to go a little bigger then you could add to the list the:

Marauder
Oly III
Mirage
A bunch more planes on ray's site
Houston Hawk
Genie