Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 14, 2012, 06:47 PM
Joined Jul 2012
15 Posts
Help!
Below voltage

I've built a new quadcopter, it's my first, and I'm new to RC completely.

The problem I'm hoping for help with in this thread, there will be others, is my battery.

I've purchased a Swallow AC/DC EQ charger and a Thunder Power RC LiPo 2250mAh 14.8v 4S battery.

When attempting the first charge the charger gave an error of Below Voltage and most of the cells were reporting between 2.5 and 3v.

The voltage would go up very slowly if I left it off the charger but I just left it overnight and there are still two under 3. I've tried changing the charge and V down but still no luck.

I've also tried NiMh but the charger gives an error of wrong battery type.

I've read the sticky but not sure what to do with my setup. It seems this charger is too "smart" to let me do some of the hacks suggested in there.

Any ideas?
Speed_E is offline Find More Posts by Speed_E
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 14, 2012, 07:00 PM
Space Coast USA
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
20,718 Posts
That was a used Thunderpower battery I guess. New ones come with all cells right around 3.85V. If you can, take that battery back to where you got it and get it replaced. 2.5V is bad!

What's the story on it?

If it's yours forever, set the NiMH for a 9 cell pack and charge at 0.5A till the voltage of each cell is above 3.3v. DO NOT GO AWAY AND LEAVE THE PACK ON THE CHARGER!!!! It must be monitored to prevent overcharging (fire). Personally, I think the pack is a goner......and by the way, watch it all the time, even after it's on the Lipo charger or do it outside just in case. If it starts to warm up or swell, stop the charge, discharge the pack and discard.
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Last edited by hoppy; Jul 14, 2012 at 07:08 PM.
Old Jul 14, 2012, 07:10 PM
Joined Jul 2012
15 Posts
Hi Hoppy, thanks for the reply.