Old Jan 01, 2014, 10:43 AM
Find More Posts by Cbed90
Sailplanes Rock & Balsa Rules!
United States, NY, Albany
Joined Dec 2013
86 Posts
Question
Gentle Lady - Power System & Spoilers

I am about to start my build of a Carl Goldberg Gentle Lady. I could use some advice as I am relatively new to the world of RC. I have searched extensively and haven't seen a very modern write up of:

1. What is the recommended motor and supporting electronics including servos... for the Gentle Lady?

2. Are spoilers a good idea? I have seen references to the spoilers option for the Spirit as a model to copy from.

My inclination is to leave the wing design alone - at least for this first build. I am most interested in the best power source for getting the Gentle Lady aloft.

I'll appreciate getting the Community's input.

Thanks for your advice.
Cbed90 is offline Find More Posts by Cbed90
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 02, 2014, 04:57 AM
Find More Posts by chawkins
Always room for one more!
United States, MI, Midland
Joined Jul 2012
270 Posts
The Gentle Lady is pretty much a 2 meter glider, I fly a Great Planes Spectra, also a 2 meter glider on a Rimfire .10 with a 2200 mAh battery with a 35 amp ESC. Up front is a 10x6 folding prop. I have fantastic results with this combo. I would believe it would do just as good in a Gentle Lady.
As for spoilers, I would leave them off the Gentle Lady, just my opinion.
chawkins is offline Find More Posts by chawkins
Old Jan 02, 2014, 07:01 AM
Find More Posts by Bariboy
United States, NY, Kingston
Joined Feb 2006
326 Posts
I flew mine with a 2830 1100kv brushless outrunner and a 10 x 6 folding prop, 35A speed controller and a 3s 1300 mah battery. also no spoilers. Climbed aggressively and did well.
Bariboy is offline Find More Posts by Bariboy
Old Jan 02, 2014, 08:12 AM
Joined Dec 2013
86 Posts
Thanks