HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 10, 2012, 01:43 AM
Penang, Malaysia
Joined Jun 2002
414 Posts
Discussion
Solo Pro 228 - spare parts

I am thinking of buying a Solo Pro 228. I am fairly new to helis and from what I read the 228 will make a good trainer.

What spare parts would you recommend that I buy together with the kit?
YEAP CHIN POH is offline Find More Posts by YEAP CHIN POH
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 10, 2012, 08:20 AM
Cranky old fart
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
21,471 Posts
Buy two helis. That way you have spares for everything and can swap parts and components to help identify problems. Really, it's the best way to isolate problems when you have a model that's not very popular, so you can't rely on online help.
Balr14 is offline Find More Posts by Balr14
Old Dec 10, 2012, 12:23 PM
Different fly 4 different guy
Canada, BC, Salmon Arm
Joined Jan 2011
1,892 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by YEAP CHIN POH View Post
I am thinking of buying a Solo Pro 228. I am fairly new to helis and from what I read the 228 will make a good trainer.

What spare parts would you recommend that I buy together with the kit?
I have a Solo Pro 228p and it's a decent heli but certainly not outstanding. Good speed in a straight line but it is more difficult to get it to bank. The shaft drive tail gives it a unique sound. I find it precise in hover and easy to land on a small stool. I fly it with an xtreme flybar and J6Pro tx which does provide better control.

The main weaknesses are the tail parts, landing gear, and flybar strikes. So get a a few tail shafts, gear set, tail holder and landing gear. And lower the canopy to mostly get rid of the canopy strikes. The SP228 is a tinkerer's heli.

If money is not an object then get a full spare heli like Balr suggested. But the bottom line is that the 228 is pretty expensive for what it is, although spare parts are readily available and inexpensive.