HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 13, 2012, 09:47 PM
United States, NC, Cary
Joined Jan 2012
10 Posts
Discussion
Servo question

If this is the wrong group for this thread, I apologize in advance.

How does one reverse a servo? Is there an extension cable that reverses the direction of rotation by changing polarity? Or, are there specific reversed servos?

Let me explain why. I am relatively new to the sport. I bought one of those big Sky Raiders from banana hobby. After a recent crash, I ordered a new main wing. In anticipation of the new wing arriving, I stripped the old wing of its servos and retractable landing gear. Turns out, I stripped the insulation off of the wires of 2 of the servos when I dislodged them from the epoxy, so I threw them away. I ordered a 5-pack of 9g servos from ebay and used all new servos when assembling the new wing. Everything works fine EXCEPT for the flaps. One flap is going the wrong direction. I have oriented the new servos EXACTLY as they original were. I took pictures. So, I can only guess that one of the 2 flap servos rotated in the opposite direction of the other. I haven't changed ANY settings in my DX 8, so it has to be the servo.

If there are servos that are designed to rotate opposite of most, how are they designated? I would like to buy one, but cannot figure out the model designations on most websites.

Please help someone...
steveved is offline Find More Posts by steveved
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 13, 2012, 10:12 PM
Chesterfield (St.Louis) MO
Joined Jan 2004
314 Posts
It is not easy to reverse the direction of a servo in the servo itself. Rather, you reverse the direction of the servo by changing a setting in the transmitter. For the DX8, this is found in the servo menu of the transmitter.