Shop our Airplanes Products Shop our Surface Products
Old Jul 02, 2015, 11:25 AM
Find More Posts by AnotherMember
Joined Jun 2015
58 Posts
Discussion
Learning how to really FLY a done in manual mode

So many drones have technology now that allows unskilled "pilots" (actually joystick pushers), to operate a drone sometimes with disaster just an electronic glitch away.

The vast majority of lost drones and crashes are probably by such wanna be pilots.

Real pilots who can proficiently FLY their drone not only outbound, but also inbound and at 90 degrees without the aid of a compass, GPS or other electronic automated guidance system are far less likely to lose their drones.

That said, I am a quad beginner. But I recognize the situation and have committed myself to learning to fly FIRST with absolutely no onboard navigation assistance. In other works, training my brain to control the quad fully manually.

Having flown RC for years (but not recently), I might have a very slight advantage over the newcomer. But I would not say it's a great advantage. I have found that learning yo control the quad is a new learning curve and although I probably got hovering and outbound control down faster, I still have a long way to go on the 90 degree and inbound control.

That said, my approach is just to go slow. I don't have an actual training plan that will help me learn the inbound and 90 angle moves. I just keep pushing the envelope a little more and more.

The Question:
So I was wondering if there was a technique to practice that to help quickly develop the flying inbound (head first) and flying at right angles?
Or is it just a matter of pushing the envelope until it clicks?
AnotherMember is offline Find More Posts by AnotherMember
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 02, 2015, 12:49 PM
Find More Posts by fradioflyer
United States, VA, Quinton
Joined Feb 2015
333 Posts