HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 07, 2015, 12:12 AM
Joined Feb 2014
27 Posts
Idea
Royal Marine

Hi guys! This is my first build log over on this site, so please bear with me. For that matter, please don't hesitate to let me know if I'm doing anything wrong.

I spotted the plans for this plane on Outerzone, and since I've always liked flying boats, figured I'd give it a shot. It has been described as the world's most beautiful flying boat, and I can see why.

There is an article from American Aircraft Modeler from May of 1970 by the builder/designer, Yuji Oki describing the work he did developing the plane. I searched all over, and only found one other build, a few years back on RCU, where the fellow built it as an electric flyer, and he said it flew well.

Anyway, I got started a couple of weeks ago, and am about 2/3 done at this point. I followed the plans pretty closely until I got to the wing, which I changed a bit. The design has 3 hardwood spar assemblies, and calls for 3/32 balsa sheeting over the entire wing. I chose to go with a more standard D tube with partial sheeting and cap strips. By the way, to further complicate the build, all of the surfaces are tapered, both in chord and in thickness.

Anyway, here's a few photos.
RDJeff is offline Find More Posts by RDJeff
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 07, 2015, 06:10 AM
boat butcher
Whittier CA.
Joined Oct 2009
1,741 Posts
Lookin' good .

Mark
the goon is online now Find More Posts by the goon
Old Mar 07, 2015, 12:08 PM
Joined Feb 2014
27 Posts
There was a good deal of confusion involved with the plans for this plane. It was listed as having a 96" wingspan, to be powered by twin .40 glow engines. That seemed a bit off, so when I got the plans printed out, I measured the wingspan at 68", a lot more reasonable for twin .40s. The other build that I mentioned came out at 86", just to further muddy the waters.