HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 22, 2013, 12:08 PM
Joined May 2013
14 Posts
Discussion
Final dissertation on rc for subs...please!

Please be gentle with me, Im new to all of this.
Ok, I dont know what to do in regards to radio control fior subs.
From what I understand...AM 75 Mhz is SUPPOSED TO BE BEST for North American Submarine control (!!??!!).
Ok, soooo where the hell do you find such equipment????...especially the 7-9 channels that most subs need. I can find the 2-4 channel Futaba Attack units, but the most channels that are available seem to be 4...but good luck finding ANY receivers that have mote than 2 channel (although 3 ch SOMETIMES pop up).
Even Futaba cant give me a straight answer on this...initially I was told"use a 7 cap pcm 72Mhz unit that we will retune to 75Mhz, and a R168DF receiver. YAY!!!!..FINALLY an answer to all my problems...and straight from the horses mouth ...no less.
Well, a quick internet check shows me that there are no versions of the R168DF receiver available in am or PCM...just good ol-fashion FM
A quick call back to Futaba , and THIS rep says "there is no way nows-adays to get more than 2 channels on 75mhz, AM (unless a elderly 4 channel Attack units shiows its ugly head on EPay), so yah might as well give up, there is NO interest in submarines in North America, except for a small handful of people"
GASP...is it true, have I unknowing joined a band of technology-disabled freaks!!!!???
Ok, now we know thats not true, as the submarine communities in USA, and Canada are thriving, and as soon as a sub comes up for sale, it is sold practically immediatley...and usually for a goodly amount of cash
Ok, in Europe Robbe has several beautiful units made especially for sub and boat use...
so to wrap up my rant, I am simply asking, here in North America what is a fresh-faced,virginal boy to do, that needs to control a submarine underwater..
...what is currently used???...
...what is the easiest way to go ???