Closed Thread
Old Feb 19, 2012, 05:38 PM
Which shall it be, Passworthy?
Near Dallas, TX
Joined Jun 2007
2,488 Posts
Discussion
Yet another glow newbie has questions

I'm about to start the assembly of my 1st glow powered plane.

I've been actively involved with R/C for almost 5 years (but I learn very slowly ). I've been all electric until now. My hangar is comprised of 4 helicopters, 300 size (23" rotor) to 550 size (49" rotor), and 5 planes, a 14" WS Ember up to a 52" WS Escapade (low wing sport plane). I would say I'm a passable pilot with both fixed and rotary wing craft. Just sport stuff, no 3d, minor aerobatics.

Plane number 5 will be a 61" WS Lancair 52 ARF. It's another low wing sport plane, modeled after the full size homebuilt line. Nitroplanes used to sell 'em. I got a deal on a NIB airframe locally and decided I would go glow with this one.

Manual suggests a .46 to .52 size 2 stroke or a .60 to .70 size 4 stroke. Flying weight is listed as 5 -6 lbs. I'm on a very tight budget, so would like advice on choosing a decent, inexpensive, easy to live with glow engine. Probably a 2 stroke, as these appear to be less expensive and mechanically simpler, and will stick out of the cowl less (engine will mount with cylinder to the right side of the plane.), though I really like the sound of a 4 stroke.

Suggesting good search terms is welcome. Recommendations of specific brands or models of engine also welcome.

Thanks for taking the time.

Dave
hancockdw is offline Find More Posts by hancockdw
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 19, 2012, 05:53 PM
Birmingham, Alabama
Joined Jun 2002
2,969 Posts
(having your rocker covers stick out of the cowl is a cool badge for most people)