SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jun 28, 2009, 02:48 PM
Joined Jul 2006
298 Posts
Discussion
Electric helicopter thoughts

Anyone considered (or actually tried) using a couple of brushless motors and built a helicopter from scratch? Would still need some type of rotor head control, but could use variable speed for the tail rotor.

Was an article in Model Aviation News back in the 70's about building a chopper from scratch (there is one like it in the model Aviation museum at AMA headquarters in Muncy)

I have some of the tools and knowledge on how to machine things, (no money to just buy a chopper at present) so I could probably make anything I need.

Any thoughts?
kf2qd is offline Find More Posts by kf2qd
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 28, 2009, 03:42 PM
San Carlos, California, United States
Joined May 2002
7,640 Posts
There have been a few on this forum.

Try searching both in here and in the micro helis forum for keywords such as "homebuilt" or "homebrew".

Toshi
TMorita is offline Find More Posts by TMorita
Old Jun 28, 2009, 10:54 PM
Rocket Programmer
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Jul 2007
25,388 Posts
Given that you're probably not going to make the electronics yourself, this is probably not a project that would save you any money over a low-cost ARF... but for the sake of interest, it would be a fun project. I would go with a Litemachines/Multiplex style design, with a direct-drive brushless main motor, and a constant-speed tail rotor with a servo and gyro. This would be easier to build, and also fly better than a variable speed, constant-pitch tail.
jasmine2501 is offline Find More Posts by jasmine2501
Old Jun 28, 2009, 11:32 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Apr 2009
128 Posts
Most fixed pitch electric helis use variable speed motors on the tail rotor. Not the best, but it definetely works.
dbroc is offline Find More Posts by dbroc
Old Jun 29, 2009, 03:39 PM
Sussex, UK
Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Joined Jun 2004
7,372 Posts