HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 10, 2013, 08:46 AM
Joined Mar 2013
1 Posts
Question
Basic bladder moulding techniques

HI guys,

I'm actually trying to make a carbon fibre tube with an oval profile and a 45 degree bend. I have never used carbon fibre before and I have been reading as much as I can on the web. This forum is by far the best source of info. that I have found so far. There seems to be a huge amount of experience here and I was hoping that someone could give me some basic pointers to get started.
I intend to make a fibreglass mould - I would like to have one CNC'd from aluminium but can't really afford that at the moment. I also intend to make a bladder with the technique described by one of the guys on here. Adam I think. with stretch plastic membrane.
The layup is puzzling me a little though, I presume that for a tube part, a carbon fibre sock/sheath would be the best option both for structural strength and also for the finish. Would people agree?
The part has to be very strong taking 220lbs maybe even more as well as considerable shock load - could anyone give me any iideas what kind of thickness of material might be required. I will do a lot of testing but as the materials are quite expensive where I live I'm hoping to find out as much as I can to begin with.
Also anyone know any good resources to start learning about composite fabrication?
Thanks a lot in advance.
Tony.
tonytc is offline Find More Posts by tonytc
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 11, 2013, 11:58 AM
Master of the Wind
United States, CA, San Jose
Joined Sep 2008
1,125 Posts
Here is a handbook

http://www.r-g.de/en/

Also some good articles here.

http://www.charlesriverrc.org/articles_modeldesign.htm
G Norsworthy is online now Find More Posts by G Norsworthy
Old Mar 11, 2013, 02:34 PM
Composites guy
North OC, Ca.
Joined Jun 2005
1,155 Posts
Shock load and carbon generally do not mix well.

Glass composites are strong and more durable.