Old Jun 03, 2014, 11:18 PM
JWs are Shear Fun!
USA
Joined Sep 2008
2,657 Posts
New Product
Digital Skins for the JW

***Digital Skins build log here***

I have been testing digital skins for the last 6 months in all sorts of extreme conditions to arrive at the ideal combination of materials and I am almost ready to offer the skins to the public. The skins are designed to fit the JW60. The best method of deploying the skins is to go on top of laminating film ("New Stuff"). The DS guys typically use 5 or 10 mil lam film. The VTPR and frontal crowd use much thinner. The skins stick to lam film, monokote, goop, 3m, fiberglass, paint and basically any stable and smooth surface. Since the skins telegraph the texture of the surface below, it makes the most sense to install on a prepped surface, but if you don't prep it still works. Done correctly, the skins look like a fancy in-the-mould paint job. Digital skins are nothing new since they are based on vehicle wrap tech. My version is a heavily tested combination of materials custom cut to precisely fit the JW60 for a quick and easy installation.

Some of the testing has been UV exposure to the Sun for months, sea air exposure, salt water exposure, repeated submersion, high airspeed (493mph! thanks Spencer), even crash testing at 165mph.

I produce the digital skins in house, including the digital artwork. They are produced on large format commercial equipment. The films are of US origin.

The plane pictured below is a JW UL that I built this weekend. The skins contain 5 colors. The value of the skins will be in potential cost savings versus buying (in this case) 5 rolls of Monokote, time savings since you apply 1 layer and you are done, repairablility since the skins are removable, visible proven color schemes, and potentially more speed from your Dub.