HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 01, 2014, 05:13 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2014
4 Posts
Motor Shaft Free-Play

Hiya,

First post here so 'Hi' to everyone.

My QBot has finally arrived and it will be paired with the Evo 7E. After owning a Hubsan x4 for a while I wanted to go for Ladybird V1 but had a problem getting one as it seemed like they were out of stock everywhere.

Back on topic. I have a question regarding a motor shaft free-play. It's probably not the quad specific and more of a general question regarding micro-quad motors. When I was changing the canopy, I noticed that one of the motor shafts is a bit loose and it's possible to move it up and down by roughly 2mm. The rest of the motors seems to be fine and there is no play on their shafts at all.

Is this normal? Do you think this can affect anything?

Many thanks.
czajunia is offline Find More Posts by czajunia
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 01, 2014, 12:57 PM
Team WarpSquad
Daryoon's Avatar
San Diego, CA
Joined Dec 2010
6,368 Posts
If the motor shaft has that amount of play. It's basically bad. Time to replace the motor.
Daryoon is online now Find More Posts by Daryoon
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 01, 2014, 04:16 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2014
4 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryoon View Post
If the motor shaft has that amount of play. It's basically bad. Time to replace the motor.
Thanks a lot for your answer. Really? Gosh... I just got the bird and didn't even manage to pair it properly with my Devo 7E not to mention getting any flights. Well, I managed to actually pair it following the instructions in this thread and the user manual but it looks like two of the motors spin somewhat slower than two others. Not sure if I am doing something wrong and I haven't figured out yet if I need to calibrate something or whether there are some extra settings I need to change. Back to reading I guess.

* Looks like there might have been something wrong with the settings as after resetting everything to default it seems to be working fine. Or maybe there was a problem with gyro auto calibration.

Re the motor I also posted a question on HK where I got the bird from but there have been no answers yet. Not sure if they offer me a replacement motor or if I should get one myself - they are quite cheap so it's not an issue anyway.
czajunia is offline Find More Posts by czajunia
Last edited by czajunia; Sep 02, 2014 at 04:02 AM. Reason: Update
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2014, 04:03 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2014
4 Posts
Motor Compatibility

Do you know if motors from other birds apart from Flysky FF120 are compatible with QBot? Cheers.
czajunia is offline Find More Posts by czajunia
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2014, 05:17 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2014
4 Posts
My Qbot with slightly modified canopy from UDI U816A for indoor flying. Unfortunately the original canopy was too heavy so had to trim it a little bit.



I know, I know... time to change the props
czajunia is offline Find More Posts by czajunia
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2014, 03:38 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2013
50 Posts
Hi!
I have ordered a Q-bot but it was lost before delivery...I'm waiting for hk to see what happened, but they say that it will take up to 8 weeks :/

So what do you think about this little toy? It flys good? And what about the multiwii port?

Thanks
mfc123 is offline Find More Posts by mfc123
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product BNF Spectrum/JR DSM2-DMSS compatible REDCON HiBiRD Mini 120mm Quadcopter richos Mini Multirotors 36 Aug 17, 2013 10:50 AM
Sold $60 Shipped -- FlySky CT-6B Tx and Six 6-Channel Rx's (Compatible with 9X) Cobra68 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Feb 09, 2013 11:00 AM
Sold Hobby King 2.4 ghz Spektrum compatible Receiver = $18 shipped shawn595 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 3 Aug 07, 2010 02:35 PM