HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 13, 2013, 09:40 AM
I did it...
av8ersteve's Avatar
Morganton, NC
Joined Jun 2005
756 Posts
Question
Thermocouples.....

Hey all. I broke the tip off my engine temp probe while inserting into the hole and wondering if anyone knew where to get another one from. I don't know if mine is now good or bad, I just don't want anything standing in my way for this weekends first start up and would like to have a back-up on hand. It has omega written on it and it's yellow. Does anyone know what part # it is at the Omega website?

Thanks.
av8ersteve is offline Find More Posts by av8ersteve
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 13, 2013, 03:44 PM
Registered User
Dr Honda's Avatar
Pittsburgh Allegheny, Pennsylvania, United States
Joined May 2004
1,188 Posts
It's a regular "K" style probe. You can use one from any engine. (or just about) I buy them direct from Xicoy for the best price... but it you need one quick... you can get one with a servo lead from Wren USA. OR... if you need the big yellow, polarized plug... you can get one from AMT USA. (US MicroTurbines)
Dr Honda is offline Find More Posts by Dr Honda
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 04:20 PM
"Take Off" eh!
vettster's Avatar
Canada, ON, Beeton
Joined Aug 2008
3,143 Posts
Hey Steve. Dont know if you seen this yet... but this is what your start will be like.
AMT Pegasus MK-3 turbine test (4 min 53 sec)
vettster is offline Find More Posts by vettster
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 3DTRYER ripped me off!!!
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 12:02 PM
Registered User
United States, FL, Sarasota
Joined Dec 2009
9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Honda View Post
It's a regular "K" style probe. You can use one from any engine. (or just about) I buy them direct from Xicoy for the best price... but it you need one quick... you can get one with a servo lead from Wren USA. OR... if you need the big yellow, polarized plug... you can get one from AMT USA. (US MicroTurbines)
They are K type thermo couplers but there is the grounded and ungrounded types. I know that the RAM Engines use the ungrounded probe. Not sure about the others. You can get them from omega.com. This is the product number that I ordered for my RAM (KMTSS-062U-6)

Patrick
sirrom is offline Find More Posts by sirrom
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 06:20 PM
I did it...
av8ersteve's Avatar
Morganton, NC
Joined Jun 2005
756 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vettster View Post
Hey Steve. Dont know if you seen this yet... but this is what your start will be like.
http://youtu.be/QzsDQg99qUg
Man that sounds amazing! I am ready for my first start up. Scheduled for tomorrow. I may have a bad thermocouple though so it maybe delayed until Carlos at RTI contacts me back. I'm still going to give it a shot as I don't know if its good or bad, I just know I droke the tip off the one I have. If temp doesn't register the ecu will never kick in the fuel pump from what I've read and running on propane alone is bad, no oiling of the bearings. Im going to vid it so you all will get to see. Im so excited!
av8ersteve is offline Find More Posts by av8ersteve
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 08:27 PM
I did it...
av8ersteve's Avatar
Morganton, NC
Joined Jun 2005
756 Posts
Good news! Carlos is sending me a new probe Tuesday. If this one is bad, it's replacement is on the way.
av8ersteve is offline Find More Posts by av8ersteve
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Any Plumbers out there? Water heater thermocouple question... lakedude Life, The Universe, and Politics 35 May 02, 2011 12:46 AM
Discussion EGT thermocouple and other leads 007clint Eagle Tree Systems 3 Sep 12, 2010 01:21 AM
For Sale Fluke Thermocouple Thermometer Eternalflight Non R/C Items (FS/W) 0 Sep 04, 2009 07:32 PM
Discussion Temp Sensor or Thermocouple Question jackerbes DIY Electronics 4 Jun 20, 2009 11:08 AM
Discussion Thermocouple sources? ChrisAttebery DIY Electronics 4 May 14, 2008 10:45 AM