HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 01, 2009, 04:39 PM
Registered User
Kmart's Avatar
United States, CO, Boulder
Joined Sep 2008
7,433 Posts
Hey guys, I'm hoping you can help me-

Here is my "Ideal" solution- a High Quality (more then 640x480, HD would be nice), small video camera- one that I can put in a big plane for HD FPV videos (so video out is required), or keep on the ground with me and record my flights (so this would use video in). Does the Aiptek camera Ian was talking about do this?

Thanks!
-Kevin
Kmart is offline Find More Posts by Kmart
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 01, 2009, 04:47 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,380 Posts
Nope. The MPVR+CB is not HD. All the HD Aipteks that also have an A/V input
will blue screen if they see too much noise. I don't think there is a single unit
that fits all your stated desires.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 01, 2009, 04:55 PM
Registered User
Kmart's Avatar
United States, CO, Boulder
Joined Sep 2008
7,433 Posts
Hmm, I need to keep looking then.

Ok, what about everything minus HD? Video in/out.
Kmart is offline Find More Posts by Kmart
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2009, 05:05 PM
Closed Account
Joined May 2007
2,530 Posts
Couple things.

For the guys that LOVE posting your videos on Vimeo !
Do you realise that Vimeo takes your 30fps, and down converts it to 24fps

So, PAL to vimeo has a slight edge over NTSC to Vimeo.




CHEATING !!!
Many of the digital devices i see, eg. keychain recorders included, struggle to get 30fps.
They claim up to 30fps, but look carefully at recorded footage, the units cheat.
On high motion scenes they simply repeat frames to fudge up to 30fps.


As for needing 30fps to maintain smooth footage, not so !
compare 25fps PAL to 30fps NTSC, you couldn't tell the difference, other than the PAL looks higher resolution with better colour. (Color)



One last thing, we see mention of 30fps and 60fps.
Again, if you look at 60fps footage, you will see again, the devices like to cheat.
at 30fps you get 30 clean relatively compressed images
at 60fps you get 60 less quality higher compressed images.
The bitrate tends to be around the same for 30fps and 60fps on many devices.
So in simple terms, 60fps has nearly double the compression on each frame compared to if the same footage was shot at 30fps.


Finally, digital recorders take NTSC or PAL footage, and save to a COMPUTER file, so the end result is just a file you play on your computer, doesn't matter if the source was PAL or NTSC really
All that matters is what source the recorder can except.

If the rocorder can do AV out, then usually the AV out format is matching the input.
Wobby is offline Find More Posts by Wobby
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2009, 05:10 PM
Registered User
Kmart's Avatar
United States, CO, Boulder
Joined Sep 2008
7,433 Posts
Hey, Wobby. Check your email!

What do you use?
Kmart is offline Find More Posts by Kmart
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2009, 06:20 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,380 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wobby View Post
Couple things.

For the guys that LOVE posting your videos on Vimeo !
Do you realise that Vimeo takes your 30fps, and down converts it to 24fps
Did you realize that Vimeo changed their codec several months ago (close to a year
now I think), and they now maintain original fps up to at least 30fps?
(Download the re-encoded vid with any of the various Firefox video download add-ons
and look at the media info in something like VLC).
Back when they were using the flash mpeg4 codecs in a .flv container
they did downsample to 24-25fps. Now that they're using the same h.264 codec
and .mp4 container as YouTube, it'll do 30fps. They still bias their compression
settings a bit toward image quality over motion, which means YouTube's
high motion vids still tend to look smoother, when they bother to create
a HQ version of the vid (which I can't get consistently).

Quote:
So, PAL to vimeo has a slight edge over NTSC to Vimeo.
Premise kinda falls down here now..

However, I *definitely* notice the difference between 24-25fps and 30fps
in high motion vids. If you're floating around several hundred feet over,
not such a big deal. Turning and burning between the trees, it matters.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 01, 2009, 10:08 PM
Registered User
shawnee, ks
Joined Apr 2004
898 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wobby View Post
... Just get a MiniDV off ebay, and be done with it, use that for the flights you want to post on youtube.

yeah, but which minidv's dont bluescreen???
rc_ron is offline Find More Posts by rc_ron
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 11:49 AM
Registered User
Ireland
Joined Apr 2001
4,027 Posts
2.5" dvr

mine arived ordered from http://cgi.ebay.com.au/2-5-HDD-AV-Vi...item4a9ca97b31

While undamaged it did not come in a box just all wraped in bubble wrap plastic.
First impression is good; it also works with cf card and that saves me having to buy a hd / ssd
Posetive;
video out while recoring (loop trough)
records static so prevents blue screen on output
option to upgrade firmware (if i knew where to find it)


Negative; need remote controll to operate
needs external 5v to operate; i cut the connector from the power suply and used a ubec.
unit gets warm so probbaly not the most energy efficent .

i will update once i done more testing
cmulder is offline Find More Posts by cmulder
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 02:52 PM
Registered User
SoMoney's Avatar
San Diego
Joined Nov 2002
606 Posts
EXCELLENT!
Here is the USA Verson of that eBay page ( $85 US Dollars..)
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=220520733797

I wish you could have posted this 2 days earlier! My Neuros MPEG4 was lost in the mail. :-( They refunded my $50US so I want and ordered another one... Should arrive in a couple days.. Can you post footage of a flight where STATIC is recorded to confirm?



EDIT: Interesting this picture clearly shows "BARU" which is the brand name of a similar 12v 2.5" HDD Recorder sold on eBay.
SoMoney is offline Find More Posts by SoMoney
Last edited by SoMoney; Dec 11, 2009 at 12:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 03:38 PM
Firefox
Firefox675's Avatar
USA, KS
Joined Oct 2005
1,040 Posts
I am wondering how this one compares, other than the remote supposedly not to operate it. And price.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWAX:IT
Firefox675 is offline Find More Posts by Firefox675
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 04:19 PM
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Edmonton,Canada Eh
Joined Jun 2007
7,568 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkkennard View Post
I am wondering how this one compares, other than the remote supposedly not to operate it. And price.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWAX:IT
It's a decent unit.

I have one. I'm happy with it.

I like the "one touch record"... very handy, easy to use.
galaxiex is offline Find More Posts by galaxiex
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 04:23 PM
Houba ! Houba !!
rcmonster99's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Milton Keynes
Joined Sep 2003
6,041 Posts
http://www.youtube.com/user/rcmonste.../0/VFkg-QI4MRQ

CMULDER and SOMONEY

I have the same unit and I can report it works a treat. I don't know why but the hard drive you install must be partitioned in 32GB chunks (FAT32).

I also use a UBEC and a lipo at the field, then there is the remote that you have to point at the unit, and to make sure the unit is recording, you have to put your goggles on the Vout to check all is OK.


In the end now, I am using a JXD990 which make the operation so much easier. I carries it's own battery, you can see the recording direct on the screen and a 20 min flight will only take 200MB in low resolution.
The only problem is that the recording quality is not as good as the hard drive unit, but very acceptable though...
rcmonster99 is offline Find More Posts by rcmonster99
Last edited by rcmonster99; Dec 10, 2009 at 04:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 04:29 PM
Registered User
Ireland
Joined Apr 2001
4,027 Posts
that apeantly is the previous version.
but that price is a near total ripoff.
cmulder is offline Find More Posts by cmulder
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 04:30 PM
Registered User
Ireland
Joined Apr 2001
4,027 Posts
not so fast

keep in mind this is a first impression only and have not even tried a proper recording yet

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoMoney View Post
EXCELLENT!
Here is the USA Verson of that eBay page ( $85 US Dollars..)
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=220520733797

I wish you could have posted this 2 days earlier! My Neuros MPEG4 was lost in the mail. :-( They refunded my $50US so I want and ordered another one... Should arrive in a couple days.. Can you post footage of a flight where STATIC is recorded to confirm?
cmulder is offline Find More Posts by cmulder
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 04:33 PM
Houba ! Houba !!
rcmonster99's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Milton Keynes
Joined Sep 2003
6,041 Posts
Agreed, I paid £35 sterling for mine (chinavision)
rcmonster99 is offline Find More Posts by rcmonster99
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Which portable video recording device? al_b FPV Talk 6 Feb 28, 2007 11:03 PM
Discussion Recycle any battery or portable electronic device. willhaney Batteries and Chargers 3 Dec 21, 2006 03:27 PM
Onboard Recording / Telemetry Device - Suggestions? LoopZilla Micro Helis 27 Jun 01, 2005 10:23 PM
Throttle usage recording device CloudyBright DIY Electronics 3 Dec 16, 2004 07:51 PM
Interesting Portable Photo Storage Device Randy Due Aerial Photography 12 Apr 11, 2004 03:29 AM