SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Thread Tools
Old Feb 04, 2015, 01:53 PM
phil alvirez is offline
Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Registered User
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
5,830 Posts
Discussion
variometer from wireless copilot

i just learned about this for finding thermals:
http://www.wireless-copilot.com/safe2fly.aspx (see at the bottom)
and other products: http://web.archive.org/web/201403070...downloads.aspx
update: checking the link that i had posted here originally i learned that is no longer working. sorry guys. seems that due to a change in managing they are out for who knows how long, and have not responded to messages. will keep an update here whenever there is something to tell.

as seems that this is the 1st forum, am starting an index so new visitors can find the most frequent questions answered.
and many thanks to Petem who owns 2 and has been very helpful.
1.- it is a ready-to-use device; only needs some programming to fit your needs.
2.-the manual talks about setting the battery on page 14, but this does not apply to it. just ignore it.
(i felt for that and Petem helped me to understand it)
3.-there is more data here: http://www.rcmodelforum.com/showthre...lot-Variometer
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Last edited by phil alvirez; May 03, 2015 at 06:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 04, 2015, 02:48 PM
Petem is offline
Find More Posts by Petem
If it flies - I want one!
Petem's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Werribee
Joined Jul 2008
1,211 Posts
Yes, but?

G'day Phil,
I am using a couple of these, but am not clear what your query is. The unit plugs into a Rx channel on any two-position switch (mine on Gear switch), so it gets the same voltage as the rest of the radio gear.
Programming is slightly confusing, but OK if you follow the manual.
Clarify issue?
Cheers,
Pete
Petem is offline Find More Posts by Petem
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2015, 04:47 PM
phil alvirez is offline
Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Registered User
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
5,830 Posts
so there is no need to calibrate that? just plug it to any size pack? my doubt comes from this: looking on the index says: page 14: 'setting battery sizes' but there is nothing about that.
form that i am under the impression that you have to calibrate the transmitter to match the battery that you are going to use.
at least that is what is explained in this manual of the wireless copilot:
http://www.wireless-copilot.com/downloads/Safe2Fly.pdf
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Last edited by phil alvirez; Feb 04, 2015 at 04:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2015, 05:52 PM
phil alvirez is offline
Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Registered User
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
5,830 Posts
tx on

Pete: thanks for your help.
on page 24, to turn on the tx, which button you press?
thanks
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2015, 08:51 PM
Petem is offline
Find More Posts by Petem
If it flies - I want one!
Petem's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Werribee
Joined Jul 2008
1,211 Posts
Wrong manual?

Phil,
If you have the variometer (not the safe2fly) your previous link is to the wrong manual, which may be causing confusion.
The vario manual is at:
http://www.wireless-copilot.com/down...Variometer.pdf
If you have the Safe2Fly, I have no experience.
With the Variometer, you turn on the receiver (lanyard round neck, watch this, as a bump can disconnect the clip, all fall on ground!) and it says 'Power On'.
When you plug the battery into the airborne system, with vario connected to a channel with two-position switch, it says 'Battery On'.
Was using mine this morning - good information on lift and sink (sensitivity 1 on up, 2 on down) and good altitude info when queried by the switch. Response to switch sometimes slow or not at all, but cycling the two position switch seems to get it sorted.
Hope some of that helps,
Pete
PS: Just found the 'Batt set P14' reference in the correct manual, as you noted - I don't think it means anything, as there is no corresponding reference in the body of the document. My guess is they have cut and pasted the contents pages, and failed to spot the error?
Petem is offline Find More Posts by Petem
Last edited by Petem; Feb 04, 2015 at 08:56 PM. Reason: Found batt set reference!
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2015, 09:03 PM
phil alvirez is offline
Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Registered User
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
5,830 Posts
no need

thank you, great guy. indeed, that explains everything (i just pm you a message that is answered with this of yours). what happens is that i was reading the manual and could not find the refference in the index at page 14, and your explanation makes clear everything, so now i don't have to worry about doing anything regarding setting battery.
thanks again for your valuable advice.
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2015, 11:35 PM
Petem is offline
Find More Posts by Petem
If it flies - I want one!
Petem's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Werribee
Joined Jul 2008
1,211 Posts
Bewdy, go flying!
I am also using a headphone earplug, with one ear cut off, to avoid driving everyone else bananas with the noise - had to reduce the volume to minimum to avoid driving me ditto.
Good toy at the price.
Cheers,
Pete
Petem is offline Find More Posts by Petem
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2015, 09:36 AM
phil alvirez is offline
Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Registered User
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
5,830 Posts
more details

found this: http://www.rcmodelforum.com/showthre...lot-Variometer

seems interesting to hear comments from some1 that has used it.
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Last edited by phil alvirez; Feb 05, 2015 at 09:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2015, 11:25 AM
JRinAZ&MN is offline
Find More Posts by JRinAZ&MN
Registered User
JRinAZ&MN's Avatar
Joined Mar 2009
81 Posts
OK, I got one yesterday.. The "variometer" version. I also have it on my gear switch. I can't get any "beeping"! When I flip the gear switch, I can get the height, but flipping the other direction, it says "on" but nothing else.
Can you give me your settings (1-7)?

(Also there is setting "8" but that's not in the manual)

Thanks,
JR
JRinAZ&MN is offline Find More Posts by JRinAZ&MN
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2015, 03:47 PM
Petem is offline
Find More Posts by Petem
If it flies - I want one!
Petem's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Werribee
Joined Jul 2008
1,211 Posts
JR,
I started out with maximum sensitivity (1) on climb rate and sink rate, but have backed off to 2 on the sink rate and may go further to get quiet in normal glide.
One of my units was unresponsive when first received - turned out to be the heat-shrink blocking the sensor hole. Came good when I used a pin to ease the plastic away from the hole and allow it to sense pressure changes.
Yours sounds different though: mine reported Height Zero throughout the flight, and On when selected to vario. If you are getting correct height but no vario there may be another fault.
I have had zero success in contacting the tech folks at Wireless Copilot despite several email queries to clarify issues.
Regards,
PeteM
Petem is offline Find More Posts by Petem
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2015, 04:42 PM
JRinAZ&MN is offline
Find More Posts by JRinAZ&MN
Registered User
JRinAZ&MN's Avatar
Joined Mar 2009
81 Posts
I just used an Exacto knife to make a little slit over the pressure sensor. Still no tone.... If I turn my gear switch off, it will report the correct height. Turning the gear switch "on" , yields a report of "ON" but no beeps...

I emailed them yesterday, but heard nothing to date.

Could you go through your entire menu (1-8) and give me the settings? I'd really appreciate it and maybe it would help others...
Thanks,
Jim
JRinAZ&MN is offline Find More Posts by JRinAZ&MN
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2015, 11:35 PM
Petem is offline
Find More Posts by Petem
If it flies - I want one!
Petem's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Werribee
Joined Jul 2008
1,211 Posts
JR,
Will do - I'll need to dig out the documentation and my notes (did it all a while back).
In the meantime, confirm your results are airborne, not on ground? You will get no beeps unless there is a significant rate of climb or descent (mine are reluctant to beep when lifted from floor to limit of my reach quickly).
You can check the device is functioning in Vario mode by blocking one end of the heatshrink sleeve with your hand, and sucking gently on the other end to reduce static pressure - this will give a short-term climb and a new altitude reading.
Off to find the paperwork with my highlighted settings.
Cheers,
Pete
Petem is offline Find More Posts by Petem
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2015, 11:51 PM
Petem is offline
Find More Posts by Petem
If it flies - I want one!
Petem's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Werribee
Joined Jul 2008
1,211 Posts
Settings

Back again, my settings:
Setting 1: Metres 'ON'
Setting 2: 0300 (height ceiling before warning)
Setting 3: 30 (alarm repetition rate in seconds)
Setting 4: ON (calls out the height every X metres)
Setting 5: 20 (calls out every 20 metres)
Setting 6: 1 (maximum ascending sensitivity, and default)
Setting 7: 2 (started with default 16, but no down tones, will probably sneak this one up a bit until unit is quiet in smooth glide)
Setting 8: not a setting, takes you back out of the settings menu
Cheers,
Pete
Petem is offline Find More Posts by Petem
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2015, 12:24 AM
phil alvirez is offline
Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Registered User
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
5,830 Posts
setting 8

this is some data i got from Ross (the manufacturer) regarding setting 8:

" Setting 8 was added after the documentation was completed and is only used if you can't control the vario mode using a spare R/C Rx output. You can set the Tx to be either a vario or height readout. If you connect to the R/C Rx then this setting is ignored.
This is the information of Setting 8.
Setting 8 is new and allows the user to set the default mode of the Vario into either Vario or Height mode. This is used when you don't have a spare channel on the R/C system to change / set the mode in flight.
ON is Vario mode, OFF is Height mode. "

see what you can do with it.
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Last edited by phil alvirez; Feb 06, 2015 at 12:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2015, 02:12 AM
Petem is offline
Find More Posts by Petem
If it flies - I want one!
Petem's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Werribee
Joined Jul 2008
1,211 Posts
Aha!

Good info, Phil!
How come he talk to you, no talk to me?
Petem is offline Find More Posts by Petem
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product OSD PRO from Eagle Tree (RTH, AHI, Waypoints, Variometer, Voice, now shipping) billpa FPV Equipment 11362 Jul 20, 2015 06:08 AM
Help! Wireless buddy box - power from module pins? scubasmyth Radios 3 Oct 15, 2014 11:07 PM
Sold Seagull Wireless Variometer eroeder Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 2 Oct 23, 2013 10:31 AM
Discussion Wireless variometer!!!!! skibumsd Hand Launch 14 Jun 21, 2007 04:45 PM
Glide Variometer from Eagle Tree billpa Product Announcements 0 Aug 02, 2005 12:54 PM