HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Old Jul 06, 2012, 12:38 PM
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2008
2,195 Posts
Discussion
Just a question about the videos I watch where people are flying very high.

I recently got into FPV flying with my miltirotor and a few years ago with a Easystar.
I see all these pretty cool videos of FPV flying and some of them are flying thousands of feet high. I'm curious what impact it has on commercial or general aviation.

I'm a GA pilot and there's tons of times that I may fly a few thousand feet AGL just to check out the surrounding terrain. I usually file a flight plan around 9,000ft but when I go to new places I sometimes cruise at a low altitude for the scenic view.

How can anyone who's flying their FPV aircraft a few thousand feet high know if an airplane will pass by at the same altitude.

I could slightly see in the old days when everyone flew on a specific radial between VOR's and some could argue that they are SOMEWHAT out of a flight path but now with GPS a lot of people don't fly by VOR's.

When I create a flight plane I use the GPS and a fly a straight line between my takeoff and landing point and adjust my waypoints for terrain, restricted airspace etc.

I'm just curious what would happen if a FPV aircraft hit my windshield at 180mph if it could do any damage. I've had bird strikes before and besides scaring the crap out of me it never caused any damage.

BUT if a FPV aircraft with a 5-10,000mah LIPO weighing a few pounds hitting the windshield at 180mph could have fatal consequences to myself and my passengers.
jasper7821 is offline Find More Posts by jasper7821
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 06, 2012, 12:46 PM
100mph club member
NW O-town
Joined Jun 2005
1,653 Posts
The rule is 400ft (or is it 500ft?) max.