SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Thread Tools
Old Today, 12:23 AM
mashednz is online now
Find More Posts by mashednz
Registered User
mashednz's Avatar
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Feb 2012
473 Posts
Poor mini talon. Rest in gorilla glue.
mashednz is online now Find More Posts by mashednz
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Today, 08:45 AM
Razors edge 29 is online now
Find More Posts by Razors edge 29
QuAd FaNaTiC
Razors edge 29's Avatar
Canada
Joined Aug 2009
22,149 Posts
I am also selling my rangelink tx, and 2 rx + 2 ibcrazy antenna for 160 US shipped if anyone is interested .

Send me a pm.
Razors edge 29 is online now Find More Posts by Razors edge 29
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:20 AM
carguy1994ca is online now
Find More Posts by carguy1994ca
I tell her RC is cheap !
carguy1994ca's Avatar
Quebec, Canada
Joined Sep 2006
14,259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mashednz View Post
I had my first couple of good Z3 flights in today. I'm really loving this plane and looking forward to getting it somewhere more interesting. Still a bit of tuning to do. I think I need a bit more expo.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HqFXqxJRl8Y
Did you use image stabilisation when editing or with YT ? If not that wing has its CG off IMO.


Maymayday, sorry for your loss Saw Buffy's mini talon last year and found it is a nice plane. Must have hit hard if the cam didn't record the last seconds ! So, what are you getting to replace the mini T ?
carguy1994ca is online now Find More Posts by carguy1994ca
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: TBRC wing 60 - teaser video
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:34 AM
irun4fundotca is offline
Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
Flying Wood For Fun
irun4fundotca's Avatar
Canada, ON, Harrowsmith
Joined Jan 2012
8,821 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadrack View Post
Tried this and this line "set serial_port_2_scenario = 3" gives me an error. Unknown variable name

I get a bind, but no response on any of the channels.
Do I have to have the motors wired up to the ESC's to have this work?
Haven't wired them up yet.
you need to setup ports in the gui first i think

this is how mines configured running a sat
irun4fundotca is offline Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:36 AM
Shadrack is online now
Find More Posts by Shadrack
Registered User
Shadrack's Avatar
Winnipeg
Joined Feb 2002
6,407 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by irun4fundotca View Post
you need to setup ports in the gui first i think

this is how mines configured running a sat
I switched to a receiver and set cpm. Strange as obviously I have wired things right. Get the proper movement with the channels, and the motors work from the app.
Anything else I might have missed?
Shadrack is online now Find More Posts by Shadrack
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:42 AM
mashednz is online now
Find More Posts by mashednz
Registered User
mashednz's Avatar
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Feb 2012
473 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by carguy1994ca View Post
Did you use image stabilisation when editing or with YT ? If not that wing has its CG off IMO.


Maymayday, sorry for your loss Saw Buffy's mini talon last year and found it is a nice plane. Must have hit hard if the cam didn't record the last seconds ! So, what are you getting to replace the mini T ?
It's at 7.75 from the wing root which is pretty much the recommended. Well at least I thought it was. The only image processing is the remove fisheye setting in gopro studio.

Do you think it is to far forward or back? It was totally controllable so if it's off I don't think it was by much.
mashednz is online now Find More Posts by mashednz
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:48 AM
irun4fundotca is offline
Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
Flying Wood For Fun
irun4fundotca's Avatar
Canada, ON, Harrowsmith
Joined Jan 2012
8,821 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadrack View Post
Put in a regular receiver, and can see that I have all the channels setup right in cleanflight. Also can test motors and see that they work, but can't seem to arm. Setup a switch in cleanflight to arm, but still nothing.
Ideas?
did you have movement while in the arm channel setup to see the on/off positions when you flick the switch?

I have to rebind mine today so i can note the steps i take to get it working again and post them,
I rebound my naza the other day using the radio, havent figured out the orange module to use more than one at a time
irun4fundotca is offline Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:00 AM
irun4fundotca is offline
Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
Flying Wood For Fun
irun4fundotca's Avatar
Canada, ON, Harrowsmith
Joined Jan 2012
8,821 Posts
ok i used my dsmx module
entered cli
set spektrum_sat_bind = 3
save

repower the fc (i just unplugged the usb and plugged it back in )
the rx was blinking for bind then

after binding to tx module
power cycled again

enter cli
set spektrum_sat_bind = 0
save

and reboot once more and connect to cleanflight for tuning as normal

the channels were not working as expected had to change under "configuration" tab
serial receiver provider
spektrum1024 ( because i used "set spektrum_sat_bind =3" in the bind line)

my arm works from aux1 (SF on taranis) shown armed below
irun4fundotca is offline Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by irun4fundotca; Today at 10:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:17 AM
carguy1994ca is online now
Find More Posts by carguy1994ca
I tell her RC is cheap !
carguy1994ca's Avatar
Quebec, Canada
Joined Sep 2006
14,259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mashednz View Post
It's at 7.75 from the wing root which is pretty much the recommended. Well at least I thought it was. The only image processing is the remove fisheye setting in gopro studio.

Do you think it is to far forward or back? It was totally controllable so if it's off I don't think it was by much.
If the CG is right and it is not the image processing, You have too much throw on the elevator or not enough exponential on it. If you think the wing is stable and easy to fly, must be the image processing that gives me this feeling.
carguy1994ca is online now Find More Posts by carguy1994ca
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: TBRC wing 60 - teaser video
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:30 AM
mashednz is online now
Find More Posts by mashednz
Registered User
mashednz's Avatar
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Feb 2012
473 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by carguy1994ca View Post
If the CG is right and it is not the image processing, You have too much throw on the elevator or not enough exponential on it. If you think the wing is stable and easy to fly, must be the image processing that gives me this feeling.
I quite possibly have too much throw on the elevator. This was actually the second flight of the day and I stayed on my high rates almost the whole time. The first flight I used the low rates and it was much smoother. It definitely needs more expo to tame it down but I never felt like I was fighting it which makes me think the cg wasn't too far back.
mashednz is online now Find More Posts by mashednz
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:30 PM
Shadrack is online now
Find More Posts by Shadrack
Registered User
Shadrack's Avatar
Winnipeg
Joined Feb 2002
6,407 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by irun4fundotca View Post
ok i used my dsmx module
entered cli
set spektrum_sat_bind = 3
save

repower the fc (i just unplugged the usb and plugged it back in )
the rx was blinking for bind then

after binding to tx module
power cycled again

enter cli
set spektrum_sat_bind = 0
save

and reboot once more and connect to cleanflight for tuning as normal

the channels were not working as expected had to change under "configuration" tab
serial receiver provider
spektrum1024 ( because i used "set spektrum_sat_bind =3" in the bind line)

my arm works from aux1 (SF on taranis) shown armed below
Thanks. I had an error on one line you wrote in your earlier post. Is that needed? Got it working. Needed to set throttle to 125 for upper limit.
Shadrack is online now Find More Posts by Shadrack
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:47 PM
Shadrack is online now
Find More Posts by Shadrack
Registered User
Shadrack's Avatar
Winnipeg
Joined Feb 2002
6,407 Posts
So I have had an idea for the last while to build a 250 sized quad that is cheap, and easy to fix in case of an accident.
I have a larger hex version that isn't done yet that I cam calling the "Wood Tick" and this is the 250 sized quad version called "Tick Jr."
Naze/Mullet, 12A ESC and basic motor package from ebay that was 80 for 4 x motors and 4 x ESC.
Using the PD board for power.
Built from about 2 dollars worth of wood and nylon screws.
Built to break if it crashes.
Flown it in my yard and it actually works well. Relatively light. Costs for all parts probably less than 150 dollars.
Will give a full flight run down later as I just put in basic PIDs for now.
Shadrack is online now Find More Posts by Shadrack
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Canadian-ized ....eh micro_doc Foamies (Kits) 4 Dec 26, 2014 04:22 PM
For Sale Skylark EH-1 old n5ktt Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 2 Mar 24, 2012 05:49 PM
Discussion Eh, eh, eh. 5KW 123 pack dusty IV Batteries and Chargers 6 Dec 31, 2008 06:58 PM
Eh any other Canadian Micro Heli's out there? HBirdV.2 Micro Helis 13 Jul 27, 2004 11:38 PM
What does EH stand for in this pack? [N-600AA (EH)] Skysaurus Electric Plane Talk 1 Nov 27, 2001 10:41 AM