HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 08, 2014, 12:54 AM
Joined May 2014
43 Posts
Discussion
In general, is it better to use 5V electronics instead of 12V?

Okay I have what might be a very dumb question. I am just starting out in FPV and so my question has to do with general, best-practices type of stuff. A lot of components in FPV like cameras and video transmitters come in both 5V and 12V varieties. My hunch is that the actual circuitry inside most 12V devices run at a lower voltage anyway (like 5V), and that they have some kind of built-in voltage regulator that knocks the 12V signal down to whatever they need. In that case, if they use linear regulators, they will create a lot of heat in the process. So in your guys' experience with electronics, is it wiser to go with lower voltage parts in general, so that you don't end up creating more heat and more power waste than necessary?
Rockworthy is offline Find More Posts by Rockworthy
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 08, 2014, 12:59 AM
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,643 Posts
The real issue is Rf noise, not heat.
And yes, some 12V devices (particularly some cameras) have voltage regulators
that spew out a lot of noise that may interfere with UHF control systems and GPS receivers,
while the 5V versions usually don't. That's a generalization though as there are
some Rf clean 12V cameras. Most FPV rigs are a mix of 5V and 12V gear, and you
just have to be careful choosing the right combination.
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Jul 09, 2014, 12:43 AM
Joined May 2014
43 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
The real issue is Rf noise, not heat.
And yes, some 12V devices (particularly some cameras) have voltage regulators
that spew out a lot of noise that may interfere with UHF control systems and GPS receivers,
while the 5V versions usually don't. That's a generalization though as there are