HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 02, 2012, 01:08 PM
Absolute Beginner
Joined Sep 2012
13 Posts
Discussion
Help Getting Started

Hi all,

I've gotten started in RC flying kind of by accident, and found this site a little ways into my journey. I've been reading and lurking for a while, and would like some advice. Here's my story:

I got started in all of this with an article from MAKE magazine, and built a flying-wing based on their kit. A link to the article: http://makeprojects.com/Project/-The...1#.UEOPwNZlRD2. They have a kit with all the parts: http://www.makershed.com/Flying_Wing_Kit_p/msfw1.htm.

Put it all together, kids loved helping out, and ended up with all the basics needed: Hitec Optic 5 transmitter, battery, charger, receiver, and something to fly around.

Did more crashing than flying however. Good news is it's pretty much indestructible. Made the assumption that the problem was more with the plane than the pilot - which is probably not true. Certainly didn't find it as easy and forgiving as advertised.

Kids loved building it so much, that I went out and picked up a kit to build a "real" RC plane. Found a Mountain Models EZ Scout kit, grabbed the EZ Wing version (foam wings), and have started the assembly process. A little more was left to the imagination - I picked up an engine and ESC that I think match (Scorpion S2 2205-1490, and Thunderbird 18 Brushless ESC), and construction has been going well.

A friend suggested a simulator, so I picked up Phoenix V 4.0 and figured out how to get the Hitec transmitter hooked up. Finding out this flying stuff is a lot harder than I expected! I can get things to land - but not where I want them to. My main issue with the simulator is it's tough to keep track of where the plane is compared to it's surroundings, which I'm assuming is much easier in real life. Basic controlling the flight of the plane, at least with a 3-channel setup, is getting easier.