Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Yesterday, 09:35 PM
Joined Jun 2014
27 Posts
Discussion
Soldering equipment

I am new to the hobby and building a mini quad.

I need advice on a soldering station.
The type of solder I need.
What type of flux I need.

Brands would be good, I don't want to spend a lot. So please keep reasonable. For example I found this: Weller WLC410 which is $42.00 don't know if that is overkill.
OldManJ is online now Find More Posts by OldManJ
to remove ads between posts
Old Yesterday, 10:41 PM
United States, PA, Doylestown
Joined Jan 2014
1,340 Posts
Not a bad solder station and not over kill. Just get some extra tips.
60/40% Lead/Tin , 0.032 diameter rosin core flux solder is what I use.
If additional flux is needed then always use rosin flux, labeled for electronics.

There are many tutorials on soldering so do some reading and video watching.
waltr is offline Find More Posts by waltr
Old Yesterday, 10:51 PM
Philippines, Calabarzon, San Pedro
Joined Jul 2012
3,912 Posts
You don't have to get anything elaborate. A 60w pen type soldering iron and the solder you find at the hardware store (60/40) will work just fine.

For the really thick wires that take a ton of heat (The ones that come with 8000mah batteries), i have a mini blowtorch
Hajile is online now Find More Posts by Hajile
RCG Plus Member
Old Yesterday, 11:36 PM
United States, TX, Sugar Land
Joined May 2014
45 Posts
Good advice up there. I solder for more than just RC, so I have a bit of a different take. I have a nice adjustable 50 watt pencil station that I use for precision work, and a 65w Radio Shack special for the "high heat" type of jobs.

I use 60/40, and I keep a couple of diameters around for ease of use.
SystemsGuy is online now Find More Posts by SystemsGuy
Old Yesterday, 11:42 PM
Joined Jun 2014
27 Posts
When you guys say pencil does that mean it doesn't have the base station?
Old Today, 12:39 AM
Philippines, Calabarzon, San Pedro
Joined Jul 2012
3,912 Posts