Old Oct 05, 2008, 12:59 PM
Tri-Quad-Hexa-Octo-copters!!
United States, TX, San Antonio
Joined Feb 2007
14,519 Posts
Discussion
Loc8tor Plus improvements for R/C

Hello,
Ive been using the Loc8tor Plus for a few months on my quadrokopters. I've had two successful finds that would have been difficult without it. It is not a perfect system, and I think sharp minds could make it more usable and reliable if we share our techniques that improve chances of success.
My flying area is full of 100's of acres of 60ft oak trees, so this is a must have item for me. Optimizing it is essential for best performance!
One thing I would like for someone to figure out is how to keep it searching until it locates the tag. *Edit: Done! See next post! It has this 2 minute or so time-out that seems not to have an adjustment. One of my techniques is to mount the handheld on a 16ft pool pole and slowly scan the area. I then move ten paces and scan again in a zig-zag pattern. I've tested the range when mounted to the pole and get about 50ft more range when a tag mounted to an aluminum plate is upside down on the ground or facing away in a tree, which simulates how I have it mounted on my quadrokopter.
Another mod I have made is to replace the AAA batteries with a 12V lipo that is regulated with an Anyvolt regulator set to 3.5V. I wanted to make sure I had plenty of current that would insure max range.
Any ideas out there?? I mean, besides finding a bald earth area to fly in...
Cheers,
Jim
jesolins is offline Find More Posts by jesolins
Last edited by jesolins; Jun 22, 2009 at 08:16 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 05, 2008, 03:17 PM
Joined Feb 2007
14,519 Posts
Keeping the Loc8tor searching

I just discovered a way to keep it in search mode! So simple... Hold down the center white button until it finds the tag. It will still time out, but then it steps through the menu and starts searching again.