SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 18, 2011, 02:34 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by alteskind View Post
did u connect the cable correct? descripton following your link says: "For use with those boards, align the black and green wires of the FTDI cable with the 'BLK' and 'GRN' labels on the PCB."

what says system properties from windows?

is there a driver installed for that FTDI?
to which com-port it is assigned to the ftdi in your windows?
-I checked the schematic and found out that RX and TX had to be switched to fit the markings on the Flydunio.
- i deinstalled the driver and reinstalled the ftdi driver: system properties says: USB Serial Port (COM 4) and no bad signs, seems to work.
Maybe I have to change the baud rate? Currently ist 9600.

Still it's not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post
Do you have a unknown device under system?
If yes this has to be cured first, deinstall and reinstall everything.
Normally your windows should find on its own, but i also had one or 2 times the case i had to reinstall the ftdi, windows...., but normally this FTDI driver is pretty rocksolid, have to say i like it.
see above
tvdu is offline Find More Posts by tvdu
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 18, 2011, 03:40 PM
It wasn't me
r0sewhite's Avatar
Augsburg, Germany
Joined Mar 2010
428 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
On my Spider I use KDA 22-26 and 8" - a combo which makes it an aggressive insect.
Hmm, I had them on my spider too, until yesterday. I knew the Keda 20-26M as powerful motors but during the past year they got worse and worse. The 20-26M I bought for my spider were absolutely disappointing so I exchanged them for Robbe Roxxy now.

In my eyes, Keda are not worth their salt anymore.
r0sewhite is offline Find More Posts by r0sewhite
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 04:32 PM
Registered User
M4d_D's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
845 Posts
nice !
when will it be available ? will it be possible to fly fpv around the christmas tree with it

how much did you pay for the receiver ready quad ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post

My newest Toy got airborne today.
The Flydumini.
Only flew indoor, but there is a lot potential.
Not sure about the lipo size and which connector to use (may the JST is too smal in this case).
Got him well on 3.4 pid settings, was a real fun and really stable.
I had to add some carbon reinforcements underneath, no bid deal, afterward he was really stable.
Its all integrated on one PCB, incl. the RX which is a nacked Frsky D4FR.
BMA020 and WMP are padded on Servo tape.
All is working really great, technically its fine, really fine.
All togehter below 150g incl. 2S 500mAh (which is a bit too small i think).
5" props are used, horibble ballanced ones from HK, but after ballancing ok.
6A ESC, but the 10A will fit absolute nicely too.
Sadly after a crash, was in the corner of the room, fell on a edge of a table, damm, my RX didnt bind anymore since then?, they are pretty sensitive it seems.
In the small series i plan i also planned a cover for protection.
Of course matt black.
Leds are on the underside, for orientation.
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/411/dsc01408j.jpg/
20cm motor to motor.

M4d_D is offline Find More Posts by M4d_D
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 04:57 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvdu View Post
-I checked the schematic and found out that RX and TX had to be switched to fit the markings on the Flydunio.
- i deinstalled the driver and reinstalled the ftdi driver: system properties says: USB Serial Port (COM 4) and no bad signs, seems to work.
Maybe I have to change the baud rate? Currently ist 9600.

Still it's not working



see above
dont get confused, i didnt choosed the naming, but rx have to go to tx and vice versa on most FTDI, some use a different naming to avoid the confusion you have right now, but this wont helps as its incosistent, the sparfun ftdi have to be rx-tx tx-rx, its fine as it is, several hundred times aproved.
Goofy23 is online now Find More Posts by Goofy23
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 04:59 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by M4d_D View Post
nice !
when will it be available ? will it be possible to fly fpv around the christmas tree with it

how much did you pay for the receiver ready quad ?
the first batch black isnt far, some days.
And yes i think FPV will be possible on 3S
Prices have to be calculated, but the PCB frame itself will be under 30€ for sure.
Will also care for some motors (there are some options), also will care for some nice and cheap props.
Goofy23 is online now Find More Posts by Goofy23
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 05:08 PM
Registered User
M4d_D's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
845 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post
the first batch black isnt far, some days.
And yes i think FPV will be possible on 3S
Prices have to be calculated, but the PCB frame itself will be under 30€ for sure.
Will also care for some motors (there are some options), also will care for some nice and cheap props.
youre awesome
M4d_D is offline Find More Posts by M4d_D
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 12:12 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post
dont get confused, i didnt choosed the naming, but rx have to go to tx and vice versa on most FTDI, some use a different naming to avoid the confusion you have right now, but this wont helps as its incosistent, the sparfun ftdi have to be rx-tx tx-rx, its fine as it is, several hundred times aproved.
Ok, thanks for your explanations! I switched them back to original but it still doesn't work.
Could the code have influence on the uploading capabilities?
I changed the config.h to:
//#define PROMINI //Arduino type
#define MEGA
tvdu is offline Find More Posts by tvdu
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 12:39 AM
Registered User
Deutschland, BW, Muggensturm
Joined May 2011
21 Posts
hi paul, the miniframe looks extremly good. can you tell me the distance between the motors ? iv got here some 6x4 3-blade props and some of this motors http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=12696 . wanna check if they fit.
thanks

alex
tevion4670 is offline Find More Posts by tevion4670
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:13 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
11 Posts
above paul mentioned: '20cm motor to motor.'
tvdu is offline Find More Posts by tvdu
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:58 AM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
In the shop now, the divide et impera! from abugsnightmare on www.flyduino.com.
http://flyduino.net/Divide-et-Impera-Universal-Board_1





Goofy23 is online now Find More Posts by Goofy23
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 02:06 AM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvdu View Post
Ok, thanks for your explanations! I switched them back to original but it still doesn't work.
Could the code have influence on the uploading capabilities?
I changed the config.h to:
//#define PROMINI //Arduino type
#define MEGA
yes if the wrong cpu is choosen it wont work.
But do you have deleted the FTDI driver and reinstalled it?
Does he say your device is ready for use or something when you plug it in?

6" wont fit, only 5" fit, cut them a little, ballance tem and you have some.
Till i have 5" will take a few weeks.
Goofy23 is online now Find More Posts by Goofy23
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 03:23 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2009
25 Posts
I will go and check

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post
so it stuck while uploading, you have to see upload done, or some red error lines, one of the two, but it seems you have nothing??
Without upload done, there should be no soft on it.
There is no led indicating the function of the wmp or bma, they simply didnt build it in.
Please check if its the FTDI or the flyduino, do you have any othe rArduinos there or a friend who could check, please contact me per pm, if its faulty a replacement is no prob, of course, but there can be so many thing wrong.
In fact, I have just received an ardupilot mega oilpan + shield kit in the mail today, so I will be able to check these things as soon as i am finished assembling the headers onto the boards. I will check where the fault is then I will post back my results. Thank you for responding so quickly.

--Jonathan
jrlederer is offline Find More Posts by jrlederer
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 04:33 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post
yes if the wrong cpu is choosen it wont work.
But do you have deleted the FTDI driver and reinstalled it?
Does he say your device is ready for use or something when you plug it in?
Yes I deinstalled the driver and manually installed the ftdi driver. When I plug in the adapter two new devices apear in the Windows Device Manager (Gerätemanager): USB Serial Converter and USB-Serial Port (COM4) both run with FTDI drivers and function properly as windows claims.

I tried the same on a WinXP latop: Driver installation was no problem, but again no connection with the ardunio software.
I selected Ardunio Mega 2560 and the correct COM-port.

So far I did not do any soldering with the flydunio so I am pretty shure it's not broken.
Is there a different way to test the ftdi adapter than programming the flydunio?
tvdu is offline Find More Posts by tvdu
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 07:47 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2010
64 Posts
Divide et Impera! Universal Board
nice board! I will take it
bovi is offline Find More Posts by bovi
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 08:45 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
188 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bovi View Post
Divide et Impera! Universal Board
nice board! I will take it
Hi bovi,

glad you like it
Find a baisc 'how-to' here http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...81577&page=140 and here
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...81577&page=142.

In case of any questions do not hesitate to ask!
I think a detailed setup instruction will be online soon now that Paul's Wiki is up 'n running.

aBUGSworstnightmare
aBUGSnightmare is offline Find More Posts by aBUGSnightmare
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Please let me introduce myself jimaquo Dock Talk 7 Oct 27, 2010 02:27 AM
Let me introduce the DEMON!!!! (Transparent covering and eliptical wing!!!) modest-master Sport Planes 7 Aug 25, 2002 11:46 PM
Let me introduce Angelis 280/400, Benjamin, Zombi (ARFs) modest-master Parkflyers 17 Mar 14, 2002 01:20 PM
Let me introduce the "NIKE" modest-master Electric Sailplanes 3 Mar 07, 2002 05:20 AM