HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 11, 2010, 10:31 PM
Registered User
All Electric's Avatar
United States, CA, Berkeley
Joined Aug 2007
118 Posts
8FG Dual Rate and Exponential Programming

The instruction manual is not the strongest feature of this new Futaba radio. Straightforward EPA, Reverse and mixer settings are pretty self explanatory.
However, as I had some trouble understanding how to actually set three rates on a three position switch, I have attempted to summarize the 'how to' once I figured it out. Maybe there are smarter ways to accomplish this, but at least it works. If anyone else has found an easier solution, I would be very interested to hear from him or her.
I hope this helps.
All Electric is offline Find More Posts by All Electric
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 12, 2010, 09:38 AM
Are there crawfish in heaven??
Joined Apr 2004
277 Posts
Good info, this is what Futaba is missing in the manual.

I agree, the manual leaves much to be desired in many areas. It also took me awhile to figure out the 3 rates on one switch. Futaba gives a lot of "here's the function with description" but no examples of how to actually use it. I've never used flight conditions before and would really like to have programming examples of how to do it.
jcg1112 is offline Find More Posts by jcg1112
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2010, 12:03 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2008
140 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcg1112 View Post
Good info, this is what Futaba is missing in the manual.

I agree, the manual leaves much to be desired in many areas. It also took me awhile to figure out the 3 rates on one switch. Futaba gives a lot of "here's the function with description" but no examples of how to actually use it. I've never used flight conditions before and would really like to have programming examples of how to do it.

For the money this radio is truly impressive. I use an FX-30 (FG12) as my main radio and its some set for real serious glider use. As most people are aware the software for the T8FG is basically a slightly cut down version of the much more expensive FG12. It doesn't have the real high end Bells and Whistles of the FG12 but for 99% of flyers it will cover everything you are ever likely to throw at it.

However, like all Futaba manuals it leaves a lot to be desired. If it hadn't been for the fact that I was very familiar with the programming structure allready it would not have been easy to get the best from this set. I would recommend downloading the Robbe manuals for the FG12/FX30 and the T8Fg if available as whilst they are similar to the Futaba one's they contain additional info and cover more clearly many of the basic things too. There is one, as far as I can tell, undocumeneted feature of this set that I like a lot. The problem is it only appears to work on certain types of models !

Can anyone shed any light on this particular feature and why it only works with certain model types? It certainly works on a full moulded 6 servo model setup with Vtail. If you tap the Return button to get into the Large Timer Screen you will notice that the screen shows the four main trims. Ok lets assume in order to get it to fly straight you have had to put in say 30% aileron trim on the trim switch. If you now use the scroll wheel to highlight the aileron trim graphic and then press the Return button for 2 seconds the trim recentres itself whilst leaving the aileron at the original 30 % trim position. ie it resets the trim to neutral so that you can then have equal movement either way on the trim switch again...nice !

Any further info would be appreciated.
ThermalBoy is offline Find More Posts by ThermalBoy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2010, 07:56 AM
Don't crash. It's better
elgatosuizo's Avatar
Tuggen, Switzerland (Yes: Banks and Cheese!)
Joined Dec 2007
174 Posts
Hi folks,
any an idea if someone tried to hack the propietary *.dat file format?
If not I plan to look closer at it (reading the binary stream) and step by step look what parameters are stored in that file and how they change. It's mainly a file and can surely be rewritten. If I am successfull I may write a program to cahnge some parameters on the PC. Will be hard manual work and some little programming. What do you think?
elgatosuizo is offline Find More Posts by elgatosuizo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2010, 02:01 PM
Registered User
NL
Joined Sep 2006
19 Posts
hacking the 8fg..?

I'm a bit of an IT boffin myself (at least so I'm told). Still I cannot imagine what you would try to achieve by messing ard in the dat files?

But no matter what, I'm always interested, so tell me more?
krelis is offline Find More Posts by krelis
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2010, 07:12 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2008
140 Posts
T8FG Feature - Bax ?

Bax

Can you shed any light on this feature and why it doesn't work for all plane types with the T8FG ?


Qoute:

There is one, as far as I can tell, undocumented feature of this set that I like a lot. The problem is it only appears to work on certain types of models !

Can anyone shed any light on this particular feature and why it only works with certain model types? It certainly works on a full moulded 6 servo model setup with Vtail. If you tap the Return button to get into the Large Timer Screen you will notice that the screen shows the four main trims. Ok lets assume in order to get it to fly straight you have had to put in say 30% aileron trim on the trim switch. If you now use the scroll wheel to highlight the aileron trim graphic and then press the Return button for 2 seconds the trim recentres itself whilst leaving the aileron at the original 30 % trim position. ie it resets the trim to neutral so that you can then have equal movement either way on the trim switch again...nice !

Any further info would be appreciated.
ThermalBoy is offline Find More Posts by ThermalBoy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2010, 10:18 AM
Don't crash. It's better
elgatosuizo's Avatar
Tuggen, Switzerland (Yes: Banks and Cheese!)
Joined Dec 2007
174 Posts
I am programmer, and want analyzed that file format in order to edit the model paramaters. If I reach this goal I may can write a program to set (at least some) parameters at the pc without using the tx. Personally I hate to way the models are programmed on the radio's and can't see any reason why I have to wrestle with 3 buttons and a iPdod-a-like circular slider. The cheap crappy HK 50$ 2.4 Ghz radios you can find can do that way... only that way. But they have a link to a PC!
Futaba engineers make it really difficult. I have to read the data each time I change something, and then look where tha changes are in the (binary) file.
If Futaba uses a sort of checksum (a control number to see if the data is correct) I will be even harder if not impossible.
Beside: For futaba itself it would be apiece of cake to program such a tool.
elgatosuizo is offline Find More Posts by elgatosuizo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2010, 01:14 PM
Registered User
NL
Joined Sep 2006
19 Posts
So why not get in touch with them? From my German experience I found them very helpful! On the other hand I can imagine that they are not happy to share their software secrets. After all it's not Open Source...!

(Sky Assitant Vario's producer, Pitlab, have put all the coding on the web....)
krelis is offline Find More Posts by krelis
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2010, 03:24 PM
Registered User
Champaign
Joined Apr 2003
142 Posts
Hi ThermalBoy,

This function does work on all model types. To access this simply go into your Linkage Menu, scroll until you see the T1-T4 Setting. Highlight this with your cursor and enter the function. In the very bottom right hand side of your screen you will see INH, select this tap the RTN button once, and you can activate this feature.


Sincerely,
Krysta
Product Development & Support Specialist
Futaba Service Center USA
service@futaba-rc.com


Quote:
Originally Posted by ThermalBoy View Post
Bax

Can you shed any light on this feature and why it doesn't work for all plane types with the T8FG ?


Qoute:

There is one, as far as I can tell, undocumented feature of this set that I like a lot. The problem is it only appears to work on certain types of models !

Can anyone shed any light on this particular feature and why it only works with certain model types? It certainly works on a full moulded 6 servo model setup with Vtail. If you tap the Return button to get into the Large Timer Screen you will notice that the screen shows the four main trims. Ok lets assume in order to get it to fly straight you have had to put in say 30% aileron trim on the trim switch. If you now use the scroll wheel to highlight the aileron trim graphic and then press the Return button for 2 seconds the trim recentres itself whilst leaving the aileron at the original 30 % trim position. ie it resets the trim to neutral so that you can then have equal movement either way on the trim switch again...nice !

Any further info would be appreciated.
krysta is offline Find More Posts by krysta
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2010, 04:53 AM
Don't crash. It's better
elgatosuizo's Avatar
Tuggen, Switzerland (Yes: Banks and Cheese!)
Joined Dec 2007
174 Posts
Afirst look showed that they hide the settings wery well. Wery hard to reverse engineer. It will take a hoge amount of light different setting stored on th SD card to start to have an idea how futaba works with that data. I can't see the purpose to hide that information. I don't wabt to know how the tx works. I want only to read and write model settings from and to the SD card.

But I see that someone of Futaba itself is writing here.... so my question is:

@Krysta: Any chance to have information about that data (the model *.dat files you can export from the futaba file utility) format? Who is the contact at futaba for that?
elgatosuizo is offline Find More Posts by elgatosuizo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2010, 06:25 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2008
140 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by krysta View Post
Hi ThermalBoy,

This function does work on all model types. To access this simply go into your Linkage Menu, scroll until you see the T1-T4 Setting. Highlight this with your cursor and enter the function. In the very bottom right hand side of your screen you will see INH, select this tap the RTN button once, and you can activate this feature.


Sincerely,
Krysta
Product Development & Support Specialist
Futaba Service Center USA
service@futaba-rc.com
Thanks Krista.
This is obviously a new function in the software compared to the FG12/FX30. One would assume that this along with the full screen timers will be included in the soon to be released software upgrade for the FG12/FX30. Any idea what else might be in the update ?

Thanks
ThermalBoy is offline Find More Posts by ThermalBoy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2010, 07:41 AM
Rsetiegerd Uesr
CyberJay's Avatar
USA, AR, Cave Springs
Joined Apr 2005
3,050 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThermalBoy View Post
Thanks Krista.
This is obviously a new function in the software compared to the FG12/FX30. One would assume that this along with the full screen timers will be included in the soon to be released software upgrade for the FG12/FX30. Any idea what else might be in the update ?

Thanks
I *really* hope you are right about both of those... Neat features that I would love to have on my 12FG.

-Jay
CyberJay is offline Find More Posts by CyberJay
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2010, 03:23 AM
Registered User
Manchester, UK
Joined Feb 2009
283 Posts
8FG 'Trim mix' and RF transmit

Could anyone shed any light on a problem I've come across with my 8FG? I'm setting up a new full-house e-glider with my (also) new 8FG so there's plenty of scope for operator induced error here as I move up to a more sophisticated/complicated set-up

I'm using the 'trim mix' function in each 'flight condition' to set the camber, elevator etc. In 'Normal' condition I'm also using some trim mix to set the flap/aileron positions. However, when I turn on the Tx it doesn't go into its usual RF transmit mode, but warns that trim mix is activated - requiring a couple of extra steps to get up and running. If I inhibit trim mix then all is fine again on power-up. Why should this be so and how can I avoid going through this routine every time? Naturally I can understand a warning if you attempt to start up at mid throttle or something, but why trim mix?

Second query concerns the flight condition names. At one place in the manual it mentions that you can change the names of flight conditions - but I can find no further reference to this feature, or indeed work out how to do so. Can anyone offer any illumination on this point?

Apart from these queries I'm hugely delighted with the 8FG's scope and flexibility. I guess in an ideal world the side sliders might just have been a tad longer for cold fingers - but otherwise excellent!

Thanks in advance.

Skip
SkipT35 is offline Find More Posts by SkipT35
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2010, 12:49 PM
Registered User
USA, CA, Merced
Joined Dec 2007
504 Posts
Latency results for the 8FG with 6008HS receiver posted here : http://rc.runryder.com/helicopter/t172571p1/

Not quite as fast as the 10C in HS mode

in normal mode, the 10C was tested with a 6014 and the 8FG was tested with the 6008, so the numbers may not be representative but the 8FG is very very slightly slower than the 10C, but better behaved in terms of consistency (8FG & 6008 combo has longer minimum latency and shorter maximum latency, roughly the same average as the 10C & 6014 combo in normal mode)

so the 10C and SD-10G remain the fastest units on the market. (A9 numbers are pending, I believe)
DannyZRC is offline Find More Posts by DannyZRC
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2010, 01:10 PM
Registered User
DougV's Avatar
United States, FL, Miramar
Joined Dec 2007
1,242 Posts
John has tested the A9 already, results should be available soon.

I don't see the SD-10G results there.

Doug.
DougV is online now Find More Posts by DougV
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focus 3 FM question. Also, about that new Futaba 3 ch. . . EFoil Parkflyers 5 Oct 19, 2001 11:59 AM
Wanted New Futaba T6XHS / Complete xios3 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Aug 04, 2001 06:16 AM
4- New Futaba S-148 Servos $45 Shipped xios3 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Aug 01, 2001 04:49 PM
New futaba 3 channel ss radio! carl schaller Electric Plane Talk 6 Jun 24, 2001 08:21 PM
New Futaba FF9 to replace FF8? John E Electric Plane Talk 5 Jun 10, 2001 05:41 AM