HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 24, 2013, 01:34 PM
dare to be dull
Deland, FL
Joined Jun 2002
688 Posts
Discussion
Mach 3 (unlicensed) and Foamlinx 2912

I have been trying to get Mach 3 to run a Foamlinx 2912 for the past few evenings. I have run into a real snag that I don't have a fix for yet. I'm not an expert and am not very familiar with Mach3 yet.

The Foamlinx machine was bought 2nd hand. To prove it works, I loaded the NT control PC with Foamworks 3, since it is an all-in-one program. That allowed me to check out the parallel conection, the motors, etc. Everything worked once I sorted the bits out. I didn't actually try to cut foam though, just wanted proof that all the parts worked.

To get serious, since I am already a Profili user, I wanted to load Mach 3 and cut cores that way. I loaded Mach 3 and also incorporated the cool custom 4 axis control screen:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1167734
I am using the X, Y, A, B axes in the software. The problem I am having is that the vertical axes do not change direction. If I give the up jog, they go up. If I command a down jog, they go up.

In order to troubleshoot, I deactivated the A & B axis and am just concentrating on figuring the problem out on the Y axis. Then I'll make changes to the B axis when I figure it out.

I have changed the Dir Low Active settings around without fixing this problem. I have completely remapped the jog keys a couple times to different keys to make sure there wass nothing wierd there.

Not sure what the problem is. I suspect that the pin that controlls direction, #5 for the Y axis is not active for some reason. I have set up the pin numbers per the foamlinx docs as far as I know. I notice that if you put a nonsense value in the dir pin box for one of the horizontal axes, it will behave the same way each time - one direction only, regardless of which key/arrow is pushed.