HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
This thread is privately moderated by HeliGriff, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Feb 06, 2011, 07:23 PM
my mental eXcape!
USA, Ohio, Catawba Island
Joined Jan 2011
4,371 Posts
Mini-HowTo
V200D01 flies like a co-axial!

I'm no expert! In fact, I'm relatively new to this sport. But, a lot of people have asked me how I got my V200D01 to fly like a coaxial. There may be better ways to do it, but here is what I tell people when they ask. (video demo below post #4)

Getting this bird “tamed” is a three-part process with several steps each. If you are experienced, you probably already know how to do most all of this. However, I’ve written the instructions assuming that people want to know everything. I don’t mean to imply that anyone doesn't already know the following.

Before we start, make sure you have done the following “standard” balance procedures.

PART ONE- BALANCE PROCEDURES: mandatory for all RC helicopters.

1. find each rotor blade’s CG (Center of Gravity) and balance each blade to the other.
2. balance the entire rotor head with blades the attached.
3. adjust blade-tracking*
3. balance the heli’s CG

If you need help with the above, visit www.rchelicopterfun.com for all the instructions. It is under “Flight School” on the menu, go to “Day One”. It’s free!

Note* The V200D01 has tiny 1.5mm e-clips on the feathering shaft that runs through the rotor-head. The blade-grips attach to the feathering shaft. If one of these e-clips is missing, you cannot adjust tracking or get the heli to fly stable.

PART TWO- LEVELING PROCEDURE: getting a V200D01 to fly like a co-axial..

Step One- Mechanical:
1. Get into a Hover.
2. Watch what it does.
3. Land.
4. Adjust appropriate linkage.
5. Repeat steps 1-5

Power-on and turn all Cyclic Trims to 50% then power-off. You won’t need Trim anymore! Most of us never use it. We will concenrate on the swashplate level during flight.