Old Jun 25, 2013, 12:18 AM
I like to fly!
United States, WI, Monona
Joined May 2011
227 Posts
Discussion
Top Flight Cessna 182 - Finishing Options

Hi everyone,
I was recently given an almost-completed Top Flight Cessna 182 Skylane. The wingspan is about 82" and it looks great and really scale. I even have the one-piece molded wheel pants and the interior detailing kit with seats, sides, etc. It still needs all the tail surfaces installed, an aileron rebuilt, a new fuel tank, some sanding and filler, etc, as it has been sitting around for quite a while from what it appears, but it also needs to be covered. With all the detailing parts, I think it would be a waste to cover the plane in monokote, but I don't think it would be worth it to fiberglass the entire thing and I've never done it before. A co-worker who gave the plane to me (the plane was given to him, and he passed it down to me) said he researched it and, apparently, found some people mixing epoxy 50/50 with something else. it was spread on the plane's balsa sheeting and, once dried, could be sanded before painting everything. I would love to do that, but I'm not sure what else it was mixed with. Help, anyone?

The other thing is I would like to do lighting. Unfortunately, the plane is already built and sheeted. I think I could get wires through the wings to the wingtips, but I'm not sure about how to do the tail beacon. Maybe cut a channel for the wire and run it up the inside of the hinge of the rudder, and it could enter the fuselage where the rudder controls do. I think it could be possible. Does anyone know of any kits out there that would be good for this kind of plane? The scale is roughly 1/5 (1/5 11/48 to be exact, I believe).

This is my first plane this size and I'm really excited to start finishing it all up.

Thanks,

Alex

Attached is the paint scheme I was thinking of for the finished thing
alexkmmll is offline Find More Posts by alexkmmll
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 27, 2013, 08:31 AM