SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 22, 2011, 09:45 AM
Joined Dec 2010
7 Posts
Discussion
Super Cub(Hobbyzone) engine/electrical problem

First, I am a beginner and more of a beginner than my son. I bought him a Hobbyzone Super Cub to begin our journey into RC planes. On the maiden voyage we had a few crashes. Took out the cowling, wing supports but nothing to stop the plane. On the second outing with a duct taped cowling, the plane flew for a bit then the motor stopped while in the air. Nose dive onto pavement. Busted up the engine mount. We replaced the engine mount. As we tested the engine, it would start up and then stop. This happened several times until it would not start up at all. Rudder and rear stablizer worked fine. We thought it the radio and took that apart. It looked fine. Called around and learned that the speed controller probably shorted when we crashed. Advised to put a fuse inline and replace the speed controller. Replaced speed controller(with the correct channel) and the engine still will not run when the throttle is activated. Rear stablizer and rudder work fine. Next we replaced the motor. Still nothing. Battery checks out, other controls work fine and I am at a loss for ideas. Have used a voltmeter to check the contacts at the engine. Not measuring any voltage with the throttle activated. Any ideas from the group?

Thanks
Yamabiker
yamabiker is offline Find More Posts by yamabiker
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 22, 2011, 10:36 AM
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Jan 2007
5,351 Posts
Take the fuse out. It really won't help you and may be screwing things up. It's just another thing to fail and really won't protect the ESC.

Disconnect ACT (pull the plugs and tape them out of the way). Contrary to the much vaunted HZ marketing the feature is complete crap. Once unplugged the switch will act as a Dual Rate with controls being 'softer' in the on position.