New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Dec 24, 2015, 04:09 PM
JayJay76 is offline
Find More Posts by JayJay76
Registered User
JayJay76's Avatar
United States, IL, Chgo
Joined Oct 2004
1,017 Posts
Thanks! I'll be back home on sunday, I'll try again and post my progress.

Hey Danny, would it be possible to make an abbreviated sketch that removes everything except 2 proportional throttle channels and the calibration routine? Would be sort of a lite version for those of us using this system in woodies.
JayJay76 is offline Find More Posts by JayJay76
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 25, 2015, 02:14 AM
Dutchraptor is offline
Find More Posts by Dutchraptor
Registered User
Dutchraptor's Avatar
The Netherlands, ZH, Hoogvliet
Joined Jul 2008
341 Posts
Line 25 to 30, as you can see, there you can comment or uncomment the functions to beincluded or not. Put2 slashes (//) in front of it and it won't be included in the program. So you're request is allready in place since version 1.

Danny
Dutchraptor is offline Find More Posts by Dutchraptor
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2015, 04:28 AM
Dutchraptor is offline
Find More Posts by Dutchraptor
Registered User
Dutchraptor's Avatar
The Netherlands, ZH, Hoogvliet
Joined Jul 2008
341 Posts
Recap time...

OK, I guess not everybody is finding the right files any more. So let's make a recap. I hope it's complete, any additions are welcome. Did It catch all the updates from your side Blutoh?

First version of the Arduino part with howto install it on the Arduino Uno or Nano and how the values should be entered for your system: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=179

Latest Software version for the Arduino: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=201

Latest version for the Raspberry: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...830911&page=21

How to make your own sounds: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=254

A way to modify setting throught your network with your PC: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=367 you can also use it in combination with TightVNC if you want a "windows"-desktop. Another link: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=452

Handy tool for the soundsystem: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=405

And how to install this tool: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=406

Powering the Raspberry with 5V in the boat: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=430

Look up the Arduino adress on the Raspeberry: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=436

An extra Gas turbine library: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=449

How to install PySerial, IMPORTANT!!!
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=362 and http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=432
and another tip: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=471

Extra info for the B+ version, not simple PNP: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=483


if it still doesn't work:
Startx
Using 'file manager'
Copy the file into /home/pi
Double click on pyserial-2.6.tar.gz
Choose 'Action'
Choose 'Extract'
double click on pyserial-2.6.tar0
Choose 'Action'
Choose 'Extract'
Open LXTerminal
type cd pyserial-2.6
press Enter
type sudo python setup.py install
press Enter
( this came from this link: https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/v...p?f=32&t=38360 )
and one more on Pyserial: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=548


Just SFX, no engine sound with just a Raspberry and no arduino is needed:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=488 for the Rasp B+ and http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=488 and http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=491 and for normal Raspberry B: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=492

A little Arduino tester program to see if the arduino sees the RX values: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=513

A little seperate remote for the sounds: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=521

Final Result in my small test boat: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=210

How the calibration works: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=234
Dutchraptor is offline Find More Posts by Dutchraptor
Last edited by Dutchraptor; Dec 31, 2015 at 04:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2015, 09:25 AM
blutoh is offline
Find More Posts by blutoh
---o-O-o---
blutoh's Avatar
United States, NJ
Joined Mar 2012
1,732 Posts
Danny,

This is excellent, it will save everyone from reading thru a lot of material to get to the important and most current information. Thanks for taking the time to do this.


Pete
blutoh is offline Find More Posts by blutoh
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2016, 03:29 PM
Iscold is offline
Find More Posts by Iscold
ISCOLD
Joined Mar 2014
31 Posts
Danny,
Well done. Your Recap time was great. Thanks.
I am back, after a long winter. Rsrsrsrsrsrs.

Iscold
Iscold is offline Find More Posts by Iscold
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2016, 03:42 PM
Iscold is offline
Find More Posts by Iscold
ISCOLD
Joined Mar 2014
31 Posts
Danny, Pete,
How to connect GND between Arduino and Rasp ?

Iscold
Iscold is offline Find More Posts by Iscold
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2016, 02:06 AM
Dutchraptor is offline
Find More Posts by Dutchraptor
Registered User
Dutchraptor's Avatar
The Netherlands, ZH, Hoogvliet
Joined Jul 2008
341 Posts
Just an ordinary USB cable.

Danny
Dutchraptor is offline Find More Posts by Dutchraptor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2016, 04:48 PM
Iscold is offline
Find More Posts by Iscold
ISCOLD
Joined Mar 2014
31 Posts
Thanks Danny

Iscold
Iscold is offline Find More Posts by Iscold
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2016, 08:05 AM
Iscold is offline
Find More Posts by Iscold
ISCOLD
Joined Mar 2014
31 Posts
Danny,
I get sounds in channel 1 and 2. These channels are connected to port A2 and A3 on Arduino.
In channel 3, I make double wire and connect to A0 and A1 of Arduino. The GND of this channel is connected to Arduino GND.
I am using mode 2 on transmitter.
For channel 4, I connect it to port A4. How can I put sound in this channel?
The button calibration is operational, but no results on this operation. When I start this procedure the Tx led is not blinking as in your youtube video.
The start motor button is ok. But the motor sound stops.
The ambient sound button is ok.
The crew sound button is ok.
The kill button is not ok.
I follow all steps on your recap time.
Could you give me any help?]

Regards
Iscold is offline Find More Posts by Iscold
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2016, 06:50 PM
blutoh is offline
Find More Posts by blutoh
---o-O-o---
blutoh's Avatar
United States, NJ
Joined Mar 2012
1,732 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iscold View Post
......
The start motor button is ok. But the motor sound stops..........
Hi Iscold,

The start sound stops after about 6 to 10 seconds depending on which sound library you are using. This is as designed. If you just move the throttle stick up a bit and back, this will queue up the idle sound behind the start effect, and the sound will continue.

For channel 4, are you connected to A4 or pin 4?

Pete
blutoh is offline Find More Posts by blutoh
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2016, 08:22 AM
Iscold is offline
Find More Posts by Iscold
ISCOLD
Joined Mar 2014
31 Posts
Pete,
Great. Now it is OK. I didn't know this tip.
There is no motor acceleration. How to stop the engine? In my case only killing the Rasp.
The channel 4 is connected to A4, and now it is OK. I got sound effect 5.
Many thanks.
Iscold is offline Find More Posts by Iscold
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools