HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 28, 2014, 10:46 PM
Registered Airplane Offender
Scottsdale, Arizona
Joined Jun 2006
5,292 Posts
Discussion
The 12-foot foamie B-36 Peacemaker

OK, for those who have not seen me build before, I'm a rather ragtag quick builder who works heavily in rigid foam insulation board (I heard another name for it once, but forgot). So far my most popular build has been the 100-inch Spruce Goose of 2011.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1286585

So it's been a while since I pushed the dimensions and toppled my biggest bird.

Last Saturday at the Arizona Electric Festival, I threw the covers off of my new project, a 12-foot B-36 Peacemaker foamie. Therefore, I presume it's time to get the accompanying thread started. Please join me!

The foundational dimensions (the size restriction that decided the scale) was a fuselage length of 96 inches. Almost the same length as the Spruce Goose's wingspan.

I recently tried a new approach for getting round-ish fuselages on my 96-inch B-29. I start with a flat-sided box fuselage (kinda like an oversized enclosed profile model), and add 1.5-inch foam to each side, then curve the outer edges trying to make the overall fuselage look as round as possible. I admit it works better on the slightly smaller scale of the B-29, but remember- I built the fuselage (including rounded sides) in about half a working day.

Suffice it to say, this will be no Dag214 endeavour (nor Carl Bachuber for that matter), but I think I can promise this one will fly this spring.

I just can't promise it will be hand-launched like the Spruce Goose.
greenseaships is online now Find More Posts by greenseaships
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 29, 2014, 04:33 AM
Sydney Australia
Joined Mar 2005
928 Posts