SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 03, 2011, 04:52 AM
Dublin, Ireland
Joined Nov 2010
71 Posts
Discussion
Pilot error or Radio problem???

I've been flying rc aircraft for about two years now and have 7 planes, mostly warbirds.

Last week I was flying my Parkzone Me109 at about 60 feet altitude when during a gentle left bank, she rolled onto her back and nosedived into the ground destroying the plane. Now I know about this model's tendency towards tipstall but I have flown her successfully on five occasions prior to this with no issues. The rx light was still a steady orange after the flight so there's no indication of a radio problem (I use a Spektrum DX6i). I had carried out a range check prior to flight (my normal practice) and it passed this ok. All control surfaces were working normally pre-flight. At the time, I chalked it down to tipstall even though I had her flying at reasonable airspeed and the bank was gentle.

However, two days later, I was flying my PZ Wildcat when during a left bank, she too rolled onto her back and nosedived. Luckily I had the altitude to save her. As I was bringing her in for a landing, she again twitched to the left but I landed her safely. Again, there was no indication of a radio problem from the rx.

This got me thinking about another loss of control I had 4 weeks ago, when on the fifth flight that day of my PZ Mustang, I launched her cleanly and she took off climbing at a good angle when for no reason, she just veered off to the left and crashed.