HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 20, 2010, 01:38 AM
We Do It With FRQZ
dkintx's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Aug 2009
2,152 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by John R. View Post
Advice Please
I am having difficulty making my Atlas 90A brushless ESC arm. I connect the 6s battery to the anderson battery arming switch. The receiver light goes solid, but the esc beeps as if it is not armed correctly. I know the throttle is off. It some times arms the first time and other times I can re plug the arming switch many times. What gives? Do most of you use an arming switch? Do you use electrical "grease" to give better contact?
Thank you in advance for your help. I posted here because I use Hyperion motors and escs
John

PS I was reading a few pages back, and there was some indication maybe it doesn't arm quickly enough? Would eliminating the arming switch help? Do many of you use arming switches with larger models? Would some sort of assistance with the electrical contact help?


correct me if this sounds stupid but ive done some brainless thing like hit the throttle trim on my tx and completly went home because my esc wouldnt arm and later just be scratching my head thinking how in the did i miss this... so check the trim is at zero i noticed you didnt say anything about that lol
dkintx is offline Find More Posts by dkintx
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 20, 2010, 01:40 AM
We Do It With FRQZ
dkintx's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Aug 2009
2,152 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LunaRendezvous View Post
I suppose a ZS3020-08 @ 1135Kv would be ok swinging an APC-10x7E, though a 40A esc is just asking for trouble, think about a CC Ice Lite 75A, the 10x7 on 3S should get you into the high 60mph range, and you probably could go to a 10x10E to get you into the 80s.

Your plane is going to be nose heavy though.
omg thats sweet i have a castle creations 60 amp would that suffice??? how much does that motor run$$$$
dkintx is offline Find More Posts by dkintx
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2010, 01:47 AM
Registered Drug Free
LunaRendezvous's Avatar
Joined Jan 2009
2,375 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkintx View Post
omg thats sweet i have a castle creations 60 amp would that suffice??? how much does that motor run$$$$
Not with the 10x10E

Motor will cost about $70 from here
LunaRendezvous is offline Find More Posts by LunaRendezvous
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2010, 01:53 AM
We Do It With FRQZ
dkintx's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Aug 2009
2,152 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LunaRendezvous View Post
Not with the 10x10E

Motor will cost about $70 from here
bummer...... well i gotta wait til next check or go with a turnegy set up easy on the pocket book and i can explain $60 not $120 to the boss(wife)lol
dkintx is offline Find More Posts by dkintx
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 05:49 PM
Registered User
Boise, ID
Joined Dec 2008
1,102 Posts
Another question: WebOCalc suggests "590-740 Kv motor with a 11 x 5.5 prop"

The manual suggests a 800 Kv motor with 11x5.5 prop.

Isn't there a big difference between these two motor/prop combinations?
tlr-boise is offline Find More Posts by tlr-boise
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 11:28 PM
Registered User
Branford, Florida
Joined Jun 2010
602 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlr-boise View Post
Another question: WebOCalc suggests "590-740 Kv motor with a 11 x 5.5 prop"

The manual suggests a 800 Kv motor with 11x5.5 prop.

Isn't there a big difference between these two motor/prop combinations?
Hopefully Dave will be back soon. I have a querry concerning the bigger 70" wingspan Revolver. Advertised AUW is 9.25lbs on the heavy side and I'm considering using the 4025-14 @370Kv and staying with the 6S 4000 mah packs I already have. Higher speed is my primary goal and my first prop of choice with this set-up would be a 14x13, should put me around 90MPH.
Dave, does this sound feasable to you or would you suggest something different? Trying to stay with 6S as I already have the batteries and a 70amp ESC thats limited to 6S.
Thanks, Chris
ACKopter is offline Find More Posts by ACKopter
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2010, 01:59 AM
Electric baptism 1975
DavidN's Avatar
Vernon, BC, Canada
Joined Dec 2000
2,907 Posts
I have an Eflite Ultrastik 25e that came with a Turnigy motor. I would like to keep the Castle 35 and the TP 3s 3800 45C battery. What do you suggest for Hyperion motor?

If I decide to put on floats eflite suggests power 32 & 4s. What Hyperion would you suggest?
DavidN is offline Find More Posts by DavidN
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2010, 09:17 PM
Registered User
Branford, Florida
Joined Jun 2010
602 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkintx View Post
bummer...... well i gotta wait til next check or go with a turnegy set up easy on the pocket book and i can explain $60 not $120 to the boss(wife)lol
Speaking of boss(wife), uhm, whos that in your avatar and how do I enlarge it so I can see it better?

All joking aside, does anyone know when Dave will be back around? He hasnt posted here since the beginning of June.
ACKopter is offline Find More Posts by ACKopter
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2010, 04:13 PM
Registered User
Branford, Florida
Joined Jun 2010
602 Posts
HELLLOOOOOOOOO!!!! anyone home?????????????????????????????????????????????? ???

What'dya mean Daves not here?
ACKopter is offline Find More Posts by ACKopter
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2010, 04:30 PM
Registered User
Boise, ID
Joined Dec 2008
1,102 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob93447 View Post
trl-boise,

I'm flying my great planes reactor with a Scorpion 4020-12 (542 kv motor) using a 6 cell 4000 mah lipo with a 13x8 prop (Xoar preferred). Flys great for sport and general aerobatics. I could drop down to a 5 cell setup and run a much bigger prop if I wanted to do 3-d.

Bob

Bob, I just ordered a Hyperion ZS4020-12 and Bob at AlleRC recommended starting with a 12x6 to start with, then move up and try some different props, etc. My batt will be 6s 5000 mAh Hyperion. Will do a little trial and error, see what gets me decent speed, longest flying times, least watts.
tlr-boise is offline Find More Posts by tlr-boise
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2010, 08:11 AM
Registered User
Greece, Attica, Piraeus
Joined Jun 2004
1,133 Posts
Hi.
I have a strange problem with my new Hyperion ZS3025-10 (775 kv).
The prop data are not even close to what i am getting.
The motor with a 12x12 APC should draw about 45A @ 11v but i am getting only ~25
The thrust is also very low.
Looks like the motor is not actually a 775 rpm/V one.
Anybody have seen this also?
Needless to say that i am disappointed as i will need to get another motor
as i can't change the propeller because the plane work only with a 12x12 PROP
for the altitude it is designed.
Chris
hendrix is offline Find More Posts by hendrix
Last edited by hendrix; Oct 01, 2010 at 08:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2010, 08:18 AM
http://www.aircraft-world
NipponDave's Avatar
American in Japan
Joined Mar 2001
2,501 Posts
What battery (Brand, C-rating, Capacity, S, Age/Condition) are you using?

What ESC Are you using (Make and Model)?

Have you measured the voltage under load, at the battery (with Wattmeter, etc)?

David

Quote:
Originally Posted by hendrix View Post
Hi.
I have a strange problem with my new Hyperion ZS3025-10 (775 kv).
The prop data are not even close to what i am getting.
The motor with a 12x12 APC should draw about 45A but i am getting only ~25
The thrust is also very low.
Looks like the motor is not actually a 775 rpm/V one.
Anybody have seen this also?
Needless to say that i am dissapointed as i will need to get another motor
as i can't change the propeller because the plane work only with a 12x12 PROP
for the altitude it is designed.
Chris
NipponDave is offline Find More Posts by NipponDave
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2010, 08:30 AM
Registered User
Greece, Attica, Piraeus
Joined Jun 2004
1,133 Posts
Hi.
The voltage exactly on the ESC input is 11.6v.
The batteries are the new Turnigy nanotech 6000mah and i use two in parallel.
I guess that 11.6v at the ESC input (Castle ICE 50 light) are enough.
I haven't measured the rpm because i could tell from the thrust and visually that the prop wasn't turning fast anyway.
Btw after a couple minute run the ESC and motor were ice cold.
Chris
hendrix is offline Find More Posts by hendrix
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2010, 08:30 AM
Registered User
Fourdan's Avatar
Antony (France)
Joined Sep 2003
3,004 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hendrix View Post
Hi.
I have a strange problem with my new Hyperion ZS3025-10 (775 kv).
The prop data are not even close to what i am getting.
The motor with a 12x12 APC should draw about 45A @ 11v but i am getting only ~25
The thrust is also very low.
Looks like the motor is not actually a 775 rpm/V one.
Anybody have seen this also?
Needless to say that i am disappointed as i will need to get another motor
as i can't change the propeller because the plane work only with a 12x12 PROP
for the altitude it is designed.
Chris
Hi Chris
Could you measure no load
V, Io, rpmo
And compute Kv = rpmo / (V - Rm Io)
Rm could be around 25-30 milliohm
Louis
Fourdan is offline Find More Posts by Fourdan
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2010, 08:38 AM
Registered User
Greece, Attica, Piraeus
Joined Jun 2004
1,133 Posts
I can do this but on Monday as the plane is at my work.
I fly strange rc planes for a living.
Chris
hendrix is offline Find More Posts by hendrix
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale For Sale - New Brushless motors forsale, Hyperion, mega, eflite stealthy Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 8 Dec 31, 2006 09:54 AM
New Hyperion Z30 Series motors from ACW Zimbo Power Systems 104 Aug 21, 2006 02:11 PM
NEW!!! electronicmodel motors and esc !!!! fjhdavid Electric Heli Talk 9 Jan 22, 2002 09:51 AM
New Brushless motors check it out Eco8gator Electric Heli Talk 5 Nov 06, 2001 03:50 AM
Simpro new Brushless motors chrisc Electric Plane Talk 0 Jun 13, 2001 12:36 AM