SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 27, 2013, 05:23 PM
Pleasanton, California
Joined Nov 2000
723 Posts
Discussion
Brushless Twin Pico (highly hacked)

Brushless Twin Pico Stick
Well...I'm just about ready to "maiden" my newest experiment.
I have been having a ball "hacking" numerous Pico sticks, and have several dual aileron, brushless wonder motors, and even a wing!...etc...anyway....this is my first attempt at a twin conversion.

One of my best flying conversions is a dual aileron Pico, single motor with flying weight coming in at 9.1 oz....and all of these "hacked" jobs fly really really well!

This twin comes in at 14.3 oz....so I wanted to take some photos to "memorialize" the build in the event it does not survive the "re-entry".
Coming in at 150% more weight, but 200% more thrust than a Pico rocket I've already got in the fleet is going to probably be a handful.

Its been a kick..LOTS of small custom components....can't wait until the 3D printers are more affordable!!
I'll post "after maiden" results in a week or so...waiting for counter rotating props.
Ralph Matile
rpm3 is online now Find More Posts by rpm3
Last edited by rpm3; Sep 27, 2013 at 11:46 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 01, 2013, 06:44 PM
Pleasanton, California
Joined Nov 2000
723 Posts
I received my counter rotating 8x4.3 GWS props, and bench tested the power system. The flying weight is 14.5oz

Using a 3 1300 mah cell lipo....I was pulling about 11-12 amps combined
110 Watts,
Or about 122 watts/lb
I'm thinkin it ought to have adequate power....
Old Oct 06, 2013, 01:49 PM
Pleasanton, California
Joined Nov 2000
723 Posts
The Brushless Twin Pico flew right out of my hands....and I started with just a few clicks of "DOWN" elevator (nose up) to help in the hand launching.....it flew fantastic actually...no trim necessary.