Old Apr 04, 2012, 01:55 PM
home of the best antennas
United States, FL, Boca Raton
Joined Nov 2011
900 Posts
Discussion
Help me design a fast CC ship

Hello guys,
I am a rc pilot since '93. I have gotten into FPV (first person view) flying a couple years ago, and since this technology is picking up so fast the Long Range record has gone up every year. Now the current record is 71 KM+71KM back and it was achieved by Roberto Montiel of Spain with a 3,6m F3J glider with a mh32 section.

It took him close to 5 hours to complete the flight.

There is no way at this moment to break that record with li-po batteries,and I realyze that a soaring ship is what's needed, and a fast one too, since I don't want to be stuck with a 50-60kmh gliding speed for best glide ratio.

I was wondering what is the performance of your category of planes, what is your glide ratio like 15:1 or more, and what is the gliding speed at this nice glide ratios.

At this point I can add that I have designed several planes in the past years, and the latest one is a motor glider with a wide 12.5" chord but only 1.8meter and with this one I can easily soar in the summer.

Now I would love to hear from you guys, what your perfect wingspan is , what your weights, your best performing profiles, and wing chords.

With fpv I am not limited to visibility, so going up and above 3000 meters is not a problem, and then gliding down from that height at high speed to make some serious ground.

Thank you for your help if you are willing to give it, and sorry for the long first post in this section.
Tony.
KondorFPV is offline Find More Posts by KondorFPV
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 04, 2012, 02:24 PM
Beaverton, OR
Joined Apr 2002
164 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KondorFPV View Post
Hello guys,