HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 13, 2012, 10:44 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,706 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace4 View Post
I always assumed they are just using closed captioning standards, for NTSC it stores the data in line 21. I'm not sure about PAL. Obviously the throughput is very low, but I would think it would be enough to get down lat/lon/alt at 0.5 - 1 Hz.
Here is a good reference for the captioning: http://nootropicdesign.com/projectla...ed-captioning/
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 13, 2012, 11:05 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
1,043 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Wow !! looks very good and very interesting. Do you plan to share a schematic and code or are you going into production or ? Again, very interesting !!!!
Thanks
I don't have any plans at all, I'm just doing it for fun
Lets see how it turns out, still some work and testing left.

It will take a while before the PCB arrives, but hopefully they will arrive within a few weeks.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 01:20 AM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Prescott Valley
Joined Feb 2012
178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
Thanks
I don't have any plans at all, I'm just doing it for fun
Lets see how it turns out, still some work and testing left.

It will take a while before the PCB arrives, but hopefully they will arrive within a few weeks.
Well....maybe you could include the MS561101 - Fab has updated the code for this amazing little guy. check it out in his library - FreeIMU library - 2012/11/06 found here http://www.varesano.net/projects/hardware/FreeIMU
RickEis is offline Find More Posts by RickEis
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 07:52 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2008
70 Posts
Hi guys just threw one of these together yesterday and it is working great! Ive been trying to read through the entire forum but frankly it is way to long :P. So my question is has anyone implemented both the osd and antenna tracking such as http://code.google.com/p/opendiyantracker/.

Chris
starkec is offline Find More Posts by starkec
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 12:48 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
1,043 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Well....maybe you could include the MS561101 - Fab has updated the code for this amazing little guy. check it out in his library - FreeIMU library - 2012/11/06 found here http://www.varesano.net/projects/hardware/FreeIMU
It's a really nice sensor-board, but it's a bit pricy compared to other sensor-boards available. While I would love to use it for some more fancy autopilot etc. I wouldn't use it for this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by starkec View Post
Hi guys just threw one of these together yesterday and it is working great! Ive been trying to read through the entire forum but frankly it is way to long :P. So my question is has anyone implemented both the osd and antenna tracking such as http://code.google.com/p/opendiyantracker/.

Chris
Nope, it haven't been implemented
Just remove all the menu-code and you should have plenty of space to implement it
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 07:06 PM
Registered User
Schweiz, ZH, Hausen am Albis
Joined Oct 2011
7 Posts
Howto upload new firmware to SimpleOSD Open?

Hi!

I am trying to upload the newest firmware to the SimpleOSD Open Board (green LED).

I have a FTDI Basic from Sparkfun (https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9716) with the following wiring:

FTDI -> SimpleOSDOpen
5V -> +
RXI -> T
TX0 -> R
GND -> -

GPS is not connected right now.

I tried to do exactly as described here (http://www.flytron.com/osd-headtrack...uino-boot.html), but I get always the error message:

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

FTDI works correct (tried it with an arduino mini).

Does anyone know if my wiring is correct?

Thanks!

Consti
Consti is offline Find More Posts by Consti
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 08:06 PM
Build to Fly? FLY to BUILD!
Legot's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined Nov 2009
1,104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Consti View Post
Hi!

I am trying to upload the newest firmware to the SimpleOSD Open Board (green LED).

I tried to do exactly as described here (http://www.flytron.com/osd-headtrack...uino-boot.html), but I get always the error message:

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Thanks!

Consti
Familiar error to me :P Its a communication error somewhere down the line.

Try switching your TX and RX lines.It is a pretty common thing for a board to have TX and RX switched on purpose, but it is incredibly misleading and annoying.

Another thing is that you don't seem to mention anything about a reset wire or pressing the reset button, one or the other is a complete necessity.
Legot is offline Find More Posts by Legot
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 10:30 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
64 Posts
ugh, on my simpleosd open I solered a reset line onto the atmega (what a pain!) and then the code downloaded. And then the thing still didn't work.
FPVdude is offline Find More Posts by FPVdude
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 05:52 AM
Registered User
Schweiz, ZH, Hausen am Albis
Joined Oct 2011
7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FPVdude View Post
ugh, on my simpleosd open I solered a reset line onto the atmega (what a pain!) and then the code downloaded. And then the thing still didn't work.
OK! I soldered the reset line as well. Then I tried to upload. Board resets nicely (green LED turns off) and I can see how the FTDI tries to communicate with the simpleosd (red TX led is blinking a few times), but I still have the same error message:

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

I tried to switch RX and TX, but no luck.

Are there any additional ideas?

Thanks!

Martin
Consti is offline Find More Posts by Consti
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 08:09 AM
Registered User
jalves's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Mar 2004
2,641 Posts
Did you select the right cpu?
jalves is offline Find More Posts by jalves
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 12:10 PM
Registered User
Schweiz, ZH, Hausen am Albis
Joined Oct 2011
7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jalves View Post
Did you select the right cpu?
Yes, Arduino Pro or Pro Mini 5V,16Mhz with Atmega328.


Consti is offline Find More Posts by Consti
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 01:48 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
1,043 Posts
If you have selected the right COM-port, Arduino and have the FTDI -> SimpleOSD connected right - there's not much left you can have done wrong

It's a bit difficult to time it right. My FTDI-converter have a LED for receive and transmit. I normally wait until the TX-LED on the FTDI converter flashes and immediately turn SimpleOSD on.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 01:50 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,706 Posts
Also might want to check and make sure there is a bootloader.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 02:32 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Prescott Valley
Joined Feb 2012
178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Consti View Post
OK! I soldered the reset line as well. Then I tried to upload. Board resets nicely (green LED turns off) and I can see how the FTDI tries to communicate with the simpleosd (red TX led is blinking a few times), but I still have the same error message:

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

I tried to switch RX and TX, but no luck.

Are there any additional ideas?

Thanks!

Martin
I think I have seen that error when for some reason I confuse my computer's usb ports - sometimes I simply restart my computer - plug in the usb - make sure the computer see's the usb - then the error goes away
RickEis is offline Find More Posts by RickEis
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 02:58 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Consti View Post
I tried to do exactly as described here (http://www.flytron.com/osd-headtrack...uino-boot.html), but I get always the error message:

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

FTDI works correct (tried it with an arduino mini).

Does anyone know if my wiring is correct?

Thanks!

Consti
I had a problem when trying to flash my X9 with er9X. Make sure there isn't a current limiting resistor in the programmer. When ever I tried to flash it would just reset and give the same error you posted above.

Hope that helps
Spydamonky is offline Find More Posts by Spydamonky
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Diy osd karl k FPV Talk 2 May 03, 2011 01:31 AM
Idea New DIY OSD? atari7202 FPV Talk 1 Mar 25, 2011 01:08 AM
Discussion see my own diy OSD video Passion Aerial Photography 7 May 27, 2010 02:28 AM
Discussion REAL homebrew DIY OSD - Check it out! jafoca FPV Talk 8 Jun 29, 2009 07:52 PM
Discussion picoOSD DIY PIC12F683 based OSD in C kbosak FPV Talk 6 Jan 31, 2008 08:47 AM