SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 15, 2012, 11:48 AM
we dont NEED roads!
AcroFPV's Avatar
United States, CA, Sacramento
Joined Aug 2012
3,324 Posts
Question
Can I run my KK2 board & ESC's off my Bench Power Supply?

I just hacked an old PC Power supply to run my charger. I got rid of the 3.3v, but kept the 5v & 12v lines. The power supply is an older 230watt ATX that says 18amps on 12v. Not sure the amps on the 5v.

For testing and balancing i thought it might be easier to just wire my electronics to the PC power supply instead of charging and using one of my 3s.

The ESC's will be Turnigy Plush 30A.
AcroFPV is online now Find More Posts by AcroFPV
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 15, 2012, 01:02 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2012
50 Posts
yes
tacitapproval is online now Find More Posts by tacitapproval
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 02:53 PM
Emress
sirbow2's Avatar
United States, SD, Rapid City
Joined Nov 2011
1,935 Posts
well you definitely cant go full throttle (or anywhere near that) because the max output is 18A. it would work for very basic setup.
sirbow2 is offline Find More Posts by sirbow2
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 03:23 PM
we dont NEED roads!
AcroFPV's Avatar
United States, CA, Sacramento
Joined Aug 2012
3,324 Posts
Thanks. Im kind of bummed cause I have a 430watt PC power supply that shows 12v @ 22amps, but i cant get that thing to power on. Out of 3 "extras" this was the only one that worked.

I do plan on upgrading to a larger power supply later, but I am hoping for now this will do.
AcroFPV is online now Find More Posts by AcroFPV
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 03:28 PM
Ape-pilot Extraordinaire
TS00's Avatar
Canada, NB, Moncton
Joined Jun 2011
1,508 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by subaru4wd View Post
Thanks. Im kind of bummed cause I have a 430watt PC power supply that shows 12v @ 22amps, but i cant get that thing to power on. Out of 3 "extras" this was the only one that worked.
Have you connected the green wire to ground?
TS00 is offline Find More Posts by TS00
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 03:39 PM
Emress
sirbow2's Avatar
United States, SD, Rapid City
Joined Nov 2011
1,935 Posts
just use your :iPos. as long as you charge them properly and dont let them go empty, you'll be fine.
sirbow2 is offline Find More Posts by sirbow2
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 03:49 PM
we dont NEED roads!
AcroFPV's Avatar
United States, CA, Sacramento
Joined Aug 2012
3,324 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TS00 View Post
Have you connected the green wire to ground?
Yup.

Two different grounds to be safe, but it wouldnt kick on... just let out a slight "wheeeze" and spun the fan for a second when switched off.
AcroFPV is online now Find More Posts by AcroFPV
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 03:51 PM
Emress
sirbow2's Avatar
United States, SD, Rapid City
Joined Nov 2011
1,935 Posts
did you have a load on it when you turned it on ( the green and black). some newer PSUs wont turn on unless a load is present.
sirbow2 is offline Find More Posts by sirbow2
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 03:53 PM
Ape-pilot Extraordinaire
TS00's Avatar
Canada, NB, Moncton
Joined Jun 2011
1,508 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirbow2 View Post
did you have a load on it when you turned it on ( the green and black). some newer PSUs wont turn on unless a load is present.
Yeah, was about to post this ^

A car tail bulb across a 12V line works well.
TS00 is offline Find More Posts by TS00
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 04:15 PM
we dont NEED roads!
AcroFPV's Avatar
United States, CA, Sacramento
Joined Aug 2012
3,324 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirbow2 View Post
did you have a load on it when you turned it on ( the green and black). some newer PSUs wont turn on unless a load is present.
I connected a spare HDD to one of the power connectors.
AcroFPV is online now Find More Posts by AcroFPV
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 06:14 PM
Emress
sirbow2's Avatar
United States, SD, Rapid City
Joined Nov 2011
1,935 Posts
so it works?

you could just connect the quad, then power up.
sirbow2 is offline Find More Posts by sirbow2
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 06:53 PM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Nov 2011
949 Posts
This sounds like a bad idea, a quad can easily pull hundreds of watts with a quick slip of the throttle. That will overload most PC supplies. They are not designed to be overloaded like say a proper bench top power supply.
Erknie is offline Find More Posts by Erknie
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 10:52 PM
we dont NEED roads!
AcroFPV's Avatar
United States, CA, Sacramento
Joined Aug 2012
3,324 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erknie View Post
This sounds like a bad idea, a quad can easily pull hundreds of watts with a quick slip of the throttle. That will overload most PC supplies. They are not designed to be overloaded like say a proper bench top power supply.
What about just one ESC & Motor?
AcroFPV is online now Find More Posts by AcroFPV
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 10:55 PM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Nov 2011
949 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by subaru4wd View Post
What about just one ESC & Motor?
It depends on the motor, if it's more than a 230watt motor, then you may be in trouble.
Erknie is offline Find More Posts by Erknie
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2012, 04:01 AM
Ape-pilot Extraordinaire
TS00's Avatar
Canada, NB, Moncton
Joined Jun 2011
1,508 Posts
Nah, it'll be fine, you'll never pull hundreds of Watts on the bench, there's nowhere for the power to go.
TS00 is offline Find More Posts by TS00
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold (UPDATED)3 esc's with power board+flight control board and programer ALL SPLIT UP dr rc Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 2 Jul 07, 2012 09:18 PM
Question Can I run a 12v power supply instead of a battery in my radio for simulator usage? super_nova Radios 11 Apr 27, 2009 06:13 PM
Discussion Can I run two chargers off 12v power supply? bhoges17 Electric Plane Talk 5 Dec 30, 2008 02:16 PM
Can I run Two Chargers off of (1) 12V regulated power supply? mrebman Batteries and Chargers 4 Feb 28, 2005 03:58 PM