SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 08, 2008, 10:29 AM
Registered User
sokiii's Avatar
Chicago, IL
Joined Jan 2008
457 Posts
Discussion
Output power of your RC TX is...

Every RC Tx sold in the US has FCC ID (in the back side or on RF module). You can easily find any information about it (including output power) here:
https://gullfoss2.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/...ericSearch.cfm

My Spektrum DX7 has 128.8mW output
FGA12 72MHz has 0.479W (7.4V)
sokiii is offline Find More Posts by sokiii
Last edited by sokiii; Sep 08, 2008 at 11:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 08, 2008, 11:04 AM
It's in-oz, not in/oz!
tomp's Avatar
United States, GA, Marietta
Joined Mar 2002
166 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sokiii
Every RC Tx sold in the US has FCC ID (in the back side or on RF module). You can easily find any information about it (including output power) here:
https://gullfoss2.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/...ericSearch.cfm

My Spektrum DX7 has 128.8mW output
FGA12 72MHz has 0.479mW (7.4V)
I thought the 12FGA was 2.4GHz?

tom
tomp is offline Find More Posts by tomp
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2008, 11:18 AM
Registered User
Northern VA
Joined May 2007
296 Posts
Thanks for posting that, I just checked my Futaba 72mhz sythensized tx and it is .214, which I imagine is 214mw.

My DM8 Spektrum module for futaba is 128mw.

I was going to check my DX7, and DX6i, but they have the same FCC id as the DM8.

I can see now why the 72mhz most likely works further away, better frequency and more Tx power.
nathanj988 is offline Find More Posts by nathanj988
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2008, 11:31 AM
Registered User
sokiii's Avatar
Chicago, IL
Joined Jan 2008
457 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomp
I thought the 12FGA was 2.4GHz?

tom
Originally it's 72MHz.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXRTL2&P=0
But now most of 12FGA radios come with 2.4GHz modules.
sokiii is offline Find More Posts by sokiii
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2008, 11:55 AM
Registered User
Northern VA
Joined May 2007
296 Posts
I just checked for the 10c 2.4 module and it is only showing 0.0497700. I don't think that is right... The fcc id from what I have found online is AZPTM10-24G.

This link will let you see the report on the 10c module... https://gullfoss2.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/reports/ViewExhibitReport.cfm?mode=Exhibits&RequestTimeout =500&calledFromFrame=N&application_id=489588&fcc_i d='
nathanj988 is offline Find More Posts by nathanj988
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2008, 12:48 PM
Registered User
sokiii's Avatar
Chicago, IL
Joined Jan 2008
457 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathanj988
I just checked for the 10c 2.4 module and it is only showing 0.0497700. I don't think that is right... The fcc id from what I have found online is AZPTM10-24G.

This link will let you see the report on the 10c module... https://gullfoss2.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/reports/ViewExhibitReport.cfm?mode=Exhibits&RequestTimeout =500&calledFromFrame=N&application_id=489588&fcc_i d='

See test report, page 43. Peak output power is about 16.9dBm which is ~50mW
sokiii is offline Find More Posts by sokiii
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2008, 12:52 PM
Registered User
sokiii's Avatar
Chicago, IL
Joined Jan 2008
457 Posts
Or check "RF exposure Info". Power is 49.77mW
sokiii is offline Find More Posts by sokiii
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2008, 02:03 PM
JettPilot's Avatar
Miami
Joined Apr 2005
10,675 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathanj988
I just checked for the 10c 2.4 module and it is only showing 0.0497700. I don't think that is right...
You cannot use an average reading meter to measure the power of a pulsed system... Your reading will be way lower than it actually is.

Also, measuring power at 2.4 GHZ requires special equipment, Power meters designed for lower frequencies will not work at microwave frequencies like 2.4 GHZ.

Power output of the Spektrum DX7 System is 125 mW according to the info they gave the FCC.

JettPIlot
JettPilot is offline Find More Posts by JettPilot
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 09, 2008, 12:29 PM
Fly FPV, sleep; repeat
twinturbostang's Avatar
Germantown, MD
Joined Mar 2006
3,376 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathanj988
I just checked for the 10c 2.4 module and it is only showing 0.0497700. I don't think that is right... The fcc id from what I have found online is AZPTM10-24G.

This link will let you see the report on the 10c module... https://gullfoss2.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/reports/ViewExhibitReport.cfm?mode=Exhibits&RequestTimeout =500&calledFromFrame=N&application_id=489588&fcc_i d='
Wow. LOTS of information on that page. Thanks for the link!
twinturbostang is offline Find More Posts by twinturbostang
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2008, 11:51 AM
Registered User
jacky65's Avatar
Switzerland
Joined Jun 2007
150 Posts
Oh bad news... My DX7 has also 128mW and my new Futaba T7C I just buy has only 54mW
:-(
Is it right ok is it the power output of the test equipment ?
jacky65 is offline Find More Posts by jacky65
Last edited by jacky65; Sep 18, 2008 at 12:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 04, 2009, 01:25 PM
Flying FPV from the lab.
aaron_gx's Avatar
Canada, AB, Lethbridge
Joined Jun 2008
2,116 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sokiii
Every RC Tx sold in the US has FCC ID (in the back side or on RF module). You can easily find any information about it (including output power) here:
https://gullfoss2.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/...ericSearch.cfm

My Spektrum DX7 has 128.8mW output
FGA12 72MHz has 0.479W (7.4V)
oh no! link no workey!
aaron_gx is offline Find More Posts by aaron_gx
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 04, 2009, 01:28 PM
Registered User
sokiii's Avatar
Chicago, IL
Joined Jan 2008
457 Posts
I does work. You need to add exception.
sokiii is offline Find More Posts by sokiii
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2009, 11:14 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2008
7 Posts
I can't find info about my cheap Esky 6ch radio, FCC ID is R6R-ESKYSZ05
Airazz is offline Find More Posts by Airazz
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2009, 01:41 PM
Registered User
United States, GA, Roswell
Joined Mar 2007
1,237 Posts
Ditto on the esky radio. I'm using an esky 4ch radio with my EZ*.
hurleybt is offline Find More Posts by hurleybt
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2009, 01:52 PM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,960 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airazz
I can't find info about my cheap Esky 6ch radio, FCC ID is R6R-ESKYSZ05
More lucky

https://gullfoss2.fcc.gov/prod/oet/f...ive_or_pdf=pdf

576 mW

hurleybt, give me your fccid, please
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Power for all your RC equipment! darkfa8 Non R/C Items (FS/W) 1 Nov 07, 2005 03:22 PM
Herr Fokker DVII 24" Span Rubber Power to Electric RC Conversion help. EGB Scale Kit/Scratch Built 10 Feb 26, 2003 12:35 AM
How much charge do your RC/CP2400s take after a flight? Mitch G Batteries and Chargers 10 Dec 18, 2002 01:01 PM
need more power for your IFO? BigBadWolf_TX Parkflyers 5 Apr 22, 2002 02:58 PM