HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 20, 2012, 06:38 PM
ON, Canada
Joined Nov 2007
178 Posts
Question
3D Hobby Shop OR Twisted Hobbies

Thanks to everyone who helped me with my inquiry and decision. You guys are awesome and cool, I really appreciate the various input and advice from everyone in this thread!

Hi Guys,

Did a quick search but have not come up with any informative hits.

I know that threads like this brings about arguments but would like some unbiased opinions on a recommended EPP 3D foamie as a good 3D practice bird.

Been in the hobby about 15 years now, but the last 7 years have had the least flying.

I have been flying mostly giant scale for the last 10 years but purchased the Eflite Carbon Z Yak and a Park Zone Extra. They are great for quick flights with no hassle.

I was looking at the 3D Hobby Shop Extra and now seeing the Twisted Hobbies line up.

I would like to practice some Harrier Rolls, Torque Rolls (did them with the giant scale aerobats) would like to practice lower, knife edge loops and circuits etc.

What would you guys recommend as a half decent 3D trainer which can take some bumping around? Anyone had the airplanes from both 3D HS or Twisted Hobbies?

Prefer to stay in the 32-35" wingspan bracket.

Thanks Guys.
turboready is offline Find More Posts by turboready
Last edited by turboready; Apr 21, 2012 at 02:02 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 20, 2012, 09:40 PM
Extremely Twisted
United States, NH, Epping
Joined Oct 2005
2,641 Posts
I've owned both the Edge and Extra from 3DHS, and now the Crack Yak and Extra Slick from Twisted, and have flown everything they make in that size. I fly for Twisted now so take what I say with a grain of salt

Anyway, any of the 32-35" airplanes from either company would make a fine 3D trainer. They are all very durable and fly very well, but I prefer the airplanes from Twisted myself. The foam is stiffer and the planes fly more precisely, and the planes go together quicker.