New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Nov 10, 2015, 04:32 PM
jj604 is online now
Find More Posts by jj604
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
8,945 Posts
The sensor itself weighs 12g, with XT60 connectors it is 19g.
jj604 is online now Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 10, 2015, 05:39 PM
Wintr is offline
Find More Posts by Wintr
Registered User
Wintr's Avatar
USA, MO, Florissant
Joined Nov 2010
2,469 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil alvirez View Post
still can't find the weight of the amp tester. http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...mp_Add_On.html
Well, they show 23g on the page, which is often shipping weight (hard to tell, sometimes), so, less than or equal to 23g, which is about 0.8 ounces.
Wintr is offline Find More Posts by Wintr
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2015, 05:23 AM
phil alvirez is offline
Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Registered User
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
6,607 Posts
great

Quote:
Originally Posted by jj604 View Post
The sensor itself weighs 12g, with XT60 connectors it is 19g.
thank you sir.
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2015, 03:49 PM
MartinT is online now
Find More Posts by MartinT
Registered User
MartinT's Avatar
Joined Mar 2006
822 Posts
Modded my antenna, much better formfactor now. Just the 28mm uninsulated wire sticking out.
Range is unaffected. (well it could be a little less, but for practical purposes (i.e. the distance I can still see my RC aircraft fly...) it's the same.

I found this out by accident: I used to have a flexible antenna on there, and one day the exposed end (the last 28mm that is not insulated, the only real receiving part of the antenna(!) broke off. Guess what: The receiver still worked! (signal strength showed 1 bar less than stock...)

I have a sliding thinghy on the back there, as the stock fixing thingy does not fit over the DX18s antenna. Easier to take it off too when not in use. (Got the slider years ago with some bicycle light)
MartinT is online now Find More Posts by MartinT
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2016, 09:41 AM
kaisaras is online now
Find More Posts by kaisaras
Registered User
kaisaras's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boorgxx View Post
After all, Ive fix it. I took closer look how it is designed.
On pin 3 there is shottky diode labeled S4 and it is "protection" for whole circuit if you apply reverse polarity (connected wrong). I've measure it and it was blowed.
With little help of google, there is few S4 shottky diodes labeled same. I guess that original is SS14 what is equal to 1N5819 as well.
But it is not avaliable here.
So I choose replacement 1N5817 (unfortunately I could not find SMD version either) so Ive used classic version. 20V instead 40V ffVoltage.

If I would shortcut its pins, it would probably works as well. But I guess that it might be nicer with diode back.

If you have some burned TXmodules, just try to shortcut pins on S4 and see if LED starts to blink and starts transmitting.

Power consuption is now 37mA and it is stabilized.

here are some links what inspired me:
https://youtu.be/IrB-FPcv1Dc
http://www.vishay.com/docs/88746/ss12.pdf
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/FREE-...340616750.html
http://www.vishay.com/docs/88525/88525.pdf
Hi

Very nice work!!!!

I hate to spend money on something fixable.

My unit was burnt due to reverse polarity, while teaching my nephew to fly... cannot blame kids...

I was using it with a 3.3volt regualtor but this is not a practical solution. Today tried to sort the diode and led flashed... I will find a new one and post the results!

THANK YOU
kaisaras is online now Find More Posts by kaisaras
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2016, 03:19 PM
kaisaras is online now
Find More Posts by kaisaras
Registered User
kaisaras's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
15 Posts
The diode is B2 not SS14

My unit communicates normally but the reading in the 3rd cell is 5.6volt....

Maybe I should buy a new one....
kaisaras is online now Find More Posts by kaisaras
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Quanum battery voltage telemetry - and 'voltage under load' question ... JJJNYC Batteries and Chargers 51 Oct 22, 2014 12:55 PM
Cool Picked this up at the post office last night. The Quanum 2.4ghz lipo telemetry unit cryhavoc38 Batteries and Chargers 282 Dec 11, 2012 09:26 PM
Question Quanum 2.4ghz Telemetry DjBac Batteries and Chargers 21 Nov 29, 2010 03:43 PM
Alert $70 BUCKS! Quanum 2.4Ghz voltage telemetry (1km Range) jet-ster Foamy EDFs 42 May 28, 2010 12:54 AM
Discussion quanum 2.4 ghz telemetry sellman Electric Plane Talk 3 Mar 29, 2010 12:00 PM