New Products Flash Sale
Old Yesterday, 09:55 AM
Find More Posts by Nwtlakes
Canada, NT, Yellowknife
Joined Nov 2012
127 Posts
Gallery
Big Blue / Baby Blue = Drake 2 twin?

I have been flying model aircraft for a couple years now and wanted to try flying boats. But given there is a bit of effort required to not fry electronics in the water, and hull design etc, this is the first summer I have given it a shot. I flew and designed my own design which flew but handled the water poorly.

And then I came across the Plans on this website for the Drake 2. (Thanks to Warhead71 for drawing up the revised plans, they are excellent. The Original was a Ken Willard design for balsa) I decided to build a twin version of it, since it is usually windy where I live and I wanted differential power to control it on the water. I also wanted to explore the possibilities my Turnigy 9xr pro had to offer programming wise.

The standard size Drake 2 plans seemed a little too big to fit in the back of my car when the kids are along for the ride, so I decided to build a 75% of the plans, but keep the wing a little bigger, just to keep it lightly wing loaded. The resulting plane took about 4 test flights to get the motor incidence dialled in, and as well as a few other challenges. But in the end it turned into a great little flyer!

Big Blue flybys (2 min 11 sec)

Big Blue - Back Bay Yellowknife, Aug 26th 2015 - (1 min 55 sec)
Nwtlakes is offline Find More Posts by Nwtlakes
Last edited by Nwtlakes; Yesterday at 12:41 PM. Reason: added video links
to remove ads between posts
Old Yesterday, 10:04 AM
Find More Posts by Nwtlakes
Canada, NT, Yellowknife
Joined Nov 2012
127 Posts
bigger brother