HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 03, 2014, 09:22 PM
Deer Park, Tx (East side of Houston)
Joined Oct 2009
142 Posts
Question
Robart pin hinge in an ARF - first time user

Ok, so I studied on Robart pin hinge, bought enough 3/16" dia. (middle size) for the whole plane, even bought the drill guide...I get it...but then again I don't.

Each half of the hinge needs a hole drilled about 1 and 3/8 inch deep, it is a long pin on them.

If the flight surfaces were not covered I would glue blocks in where I was going to put a hinge so the whole pin was glued in a solid wood block inside the surface.

But my surfaces are covered, 25% Sbach ARF. I have started with rudder. Shining a light through the covering it appears the wood the pin will glue in is only 3/4 inch deep.

I am not doubting everything I read, and I acknowledge I have zero experience.

Tell me I am over thinking this. Tell me to clean the hinge well to remove mold release agent, rough up the pin with some sandpaper, put a little grease to keep epoxy from where it is not supposed to be, and glue them in with 30 minute epoxy to what wood I have and not to worry about the details so freaking much :-)

At this rate it will be next year before I fly it. If I could just get one surfaced hinged I'm sure the pace will pick up. Learning curves are slow.
DanWard is offline Find More Posts by DanWard
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 03, 2014, 10:52 PM
United States, NY, Eldred
Joined Jun 2012
438 Posts
If the pin will be in 3/4", that will be fine. Just make sure you don't drill the hole too big so the pin has some resistance. Not that epoxy wont do the job, but since you cant see what's going on beneath the covering, you may want to consider using Gorilla Glue. It swells in the hole and hardens.
kimchiyuk is offline Find More Posts by kimchiyuk
Old Feb 04, 2014, 09:48 PM
United States, MI, Macomb
Joined Apr 2009
2,330 Posts