HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 01, 2012, 04:59 PM
UH-1 Gunship, AH-1G jock 69-71
So Cal ... Kingdom of Taxes
Joined Nov 2008
422 Posts
Help!
Testing Servo-less Retract Landing Gears safely

I just received a bunch of 3.7g Servo-less Retract Landing Gears from, where else, China. These are pretty high quality, rebuildable, metal gears, metal strut block. I'd like to test them in a simple way just for operation - opening / closing repeatedly - before installing them. I'm pretty new to servo-less retracts, always used servo or air-operating retracts.

Looking for suggestions on how to set up a "test rig" without using a transmitter to test them without damaging or burning them up. I have a 3 Mode Servo Driver / Tester (see picture) that has 1) Manual mode, 2) Auto Neutral centering, and 3) Auto Continuous Cycle (rotation) mode. This Servo Driver connects to an ESC and then to a LiPO for power.

I would like to test full extension to retract, lock up and cycle the retracts (open / close) to filter out the flaky ones, if there are any.

Any solid suggestions appreciated.
Thanks
makeitworst is offline Find More Posts by makeitworst
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 01, 2012, 08:12 PM
Canada, ON, Windsor
Joined Apr 2008
901 Posts
Don't see why this would not work.
Cougar429 is offline Find More Posts by Cougar429
Old Jun 02, 2012, 08:30 PM
Joined Nov 2008
422 Posts
Conventional Servo Tester not an option.

Just an update, tried the Servo Driver / Tester I have and did not work to drive the eRetracts in any mode. I'm thinking the pulse (cycle) signal rate from the tester does not match what an Rx and Tx uses to signal the servo-less eRetract to open / close.

Still looking for options.
Old Jun 02, 2012, 09:11 PM
Canada, ON, Windsor
Joined Apr 2008
901 Posts
Have you tried a servo to see if the unit is even functioning? It should work if the signal flips either side of neutral.