HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 31, 2012, 01:48 PM
Mike
United Kingdom, England, Thurstonfield
Joined Feb 2012
80 Posts
Help!
Dynam EZ hawksky "Porpoises"

I am very new to this hobby and I am learning myself to fly. I am not doing to badly using the EZ which was a xmas present. At First I naively thought that the plane would fly "straight" at full throttle but the beginners thread put me right on that and now I can achieve good level flight at at 1/2 throttle. However I am finding it difficult to prevent the plane from porpoising when I give it more than 1/2 throttle the nose goes up then down then up then down and so on. With very careful control of the throttle I can stop this and achieve level flight again. consequently I am frightened to fly to low for obvious reasons so I am limited to going round in circles at high altitude. I have checked and re-checked the COG by adjusting the battery position but this does not seem to help. I was led to believe that this plane was very easy to fly but this has me beat. With the throttle off the plane does glide straight and fast and landing is not a big problem. The plane is standard out of the box 2.4ghz 4 channel tx but only 3 channel on the plane, throttle, airelon, elevator.
i am sure I have everything trimmed ok having checked all control surfaces carefully.

Thanks for any advice anyone might have

Mike
METATRON12 is offline Find More Posts by METATRON12
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 31, 2012, 02:25 PM
'tis nothing
United States, CA, Napa
Joined Dec 2011
941 Posts
Here's a related thread on RC Universe. It's old but doesn't matter.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_28...tm.htm#2879523

I have an interest in this also as my Sky Surfer/Bixler suffers from a bit of this. Could also be the nature of a pusher to some degree.

???
shunyata is offline Find More Posts by shunyata
Old Mar 31, 2012, 02:54 PM
Old Fogey-ish
United States, WA, Vancouver
Joined Aug 2010
2,118 Posts