HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 26, 2010, 11:49 PM
Joined Oct 2009
10 Posts
Question
Nanotech vs regular lipo's

Pretty noob here to the hobby, but I know that the nanotech batteries charge must faster than regular lipos, but how exactly do they compare in flight time duration?

For example, what would the difference be for 11.1v 1300maH for both battery technologies flying under the same conditions? (this is for a flying wing platform)

thanks
dezerteagle323 is offline Find More Posts by dezerteagle323
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 27, 2010, 02:11 AM
sloping addict
France
Joined Feb 2003
1,536 Posts
The advantage is lower internal resistance, which means higher voltage especially under high loads and capability for more ultimate power (ie burst discharges up to 60C or even 90C). Potential colateral advantage is longer life duration as the cells have slightly less strain for a given application.
Size / form factor may be another point of interest.

But for most users, most good standard 20/30C cells will be plenty good enough and you will never see the difference for mild setups.

You see the difference if you push towards the limits, that only 0.5% of users take real advantage of: 3D helis, high power gliders, pylon racers and some EDF mainly...
For example F5B setups use up to 400A+ out of 3650 mAh cells.
FYI, my 3000 mAh Flightmax 40C already deliver easily up to 176A for 3-5 seconds bursts on a glider... Good enough cells already (they might actually have these "nano" spacers already embedded inside as I heard most good 35+C cells since over a year may actually use this building technology - I don't know if this is true)

You can charge also at up to 10C the nanos, assuming you have a charger and power supply that can deliver... Better have 2-3 packs and charge @ 2-3C IMHO.
Protocooler is offline Find More Posts by Protocooler
Old Sep 27, 2010, 09:59 AM
Space Coast USA
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
20,290 Posts
Quote: