HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 26, 2013, 08:03 PM
Joined Jan 2013
7 Posts
Discussion
Next heli after mcpx

I bought a mcpx and flight sim a few months ago. I've been in RC cars for a while and I'm a newb to the heli. This thing is a blast and also challenging. But I'm having a lot of fun with it. I can hover pretty good tail in and learning the other orientations, so I still have a ways to go. I wanted to know for planning and learning which heli should I move to once I get better?
I would like a bigger heli for the ease of seeing outside and mantenance. I don't plan on much 3d for now, just really like flying around. I have a DX6i trans. All of my cars are the higher end brands as I believe you get what you pay for. Looking for a nice heli.
What size would you recommend (300, 450, or 500) ?
What brand and model?
Also, one that parts are no too expensive.
Thanks for any input.
Resqnu is offline Find More Posts by Resqnu
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 26, 2013, 08:34 PM
Cranky old fart
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
20,679 Posts
Blade 450x would be a logical choice.
Balr14 is offline Find More Posts by Balr14
Old Jan 26, 2013, 08:47 PM
Joined Jan 2013
7 Posts
Thanks for your input. I am looking at that one. Would you mind giving a little input to why you recommend that one and how it compares to the mcpx and 300x? Just trying to learn about the differences.
Old Jan 26, 2013, 09:09 PM
Philippines, Calabarzon, San Pedro
Joined Jul 2012
3,587 Posts
TREX 450 or any of its clones.

Enough power and mass to keep it stable even in wind. Big enough to be seen from far off. Replacement parts are still cheap. And since you already have experience with a CP micro, you'll be able to fly this in no time.

You still have to put it together but atleast you know exactly how it works when you're done. Downside is that you won't know if anything is missing until you actually put it together.
Hajile is online now Find More Posts by Hajile