SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 02, 2010, 10:30 AM
Find More Posts by u2builder
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,994 Posts
Discussion
Are there any 2M 3axis electric sailplane kits?

I am interested in a 3 axis (REA) electric sailplane in kit form. I have been searching but can't seem to find anything. Does anyone have a suggestion?

I am an experienced pilot, but have not tried sailplanes. I am not looking for anything special, just a good flying plane.
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 02, 2010, 10:56 AM
Find More Posts by pilotpete2
The Northeast Kingdom, Vermont
Joined Jun 2004
5,457 Posts
By a kit, I assume you mean a wood built up kit, rather than a fiberglass fuse ARF.
I don't know of any kits out there with ailerons. The Chrysalis 2M from NSP is a nice plane, it is RES, but maybe you could mod it to have ailerons.
Good luck,
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline Find More Posts by pilotpete2
Old Dec 02, 2010, 12:15 PM
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,994 Posts
What a sad state of ARF-airs for folks that like to build em.

I have a Sig riser that I had started to mod. I was hoping to find a kit, but I guess I will pick up where I left off and hope my mod works out.

Or buy a foamy like an Easy Glider Pro or Radian Pro. I hate to buy a balsa ARF because I would like to build that type.

Thanks.
Old Dec 02, 2010, 05:05 PM
Find More Posts by BMatthews
B for Bruce
The 'Wack, BC, Canada
Joined Oct 2002
12,210 Posts
Good luck finding much of any kits these days. And you're right, the few balsa kit options out there are all primarily RE or RES.

There were a number of nice plans from the various magazines that are still available. Or just dive in and design your own. If you cheat like heck and start with a known good planform and alter the plans as to airfoil, construction methods and such it's not hard to end up with your own design that borrows heavily from the inspiration that got you going.