HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 02, 2013, 04:17 PM
Rangers Lead the Way
Joined Mar 2010
2,298 Posts
Discussion
Correct head speeds on scale heads

I am working on a Trex 450 ~> MD500 with 5-blade scale head. I am relatively new to helis. My question is: how to determine the correct head speed for the scale rotor. This would not even be a question, if I were not seeing repeated comments to the effect that the scale head should be turning at something like 2/3 (2200rpm) of the speed of the stock head ~ 3,000. The most common reason given is that the head will tear itself apart.

This makes no sense to me. The centrifugal forces on each of the blades and grips of the multiblade head are exactly the same as those on the 2-blade head at the same head speed. And the requirement for an adequate head speed (stability and responsiveness) still applies. So I am not sure where this "conventional wisdom" comes from. Is there any mechanical reason why the scale head cannot operate at the same speed as the stock head?

Key assumptions on my part are:
1. The scale model will be flown in a scale manner: loops and rolls, perhaps, but no 3D flight.
2. I will be using an FBL controller (ZYX-S)
3. I have ordered plastic scale blades as well as standard 325s
4. I will be running a HDX 4-blade tail
5. I'm planning an analog servo set (HS 65MG) all around. I have a S9257 but may not use it because it cannot run on 6V: I will likely use a LiFe battery to power the RX as I plan nav lights as well.

Thanks
TTRotary is offline Find More Posts by TTRotary
Last edited by TTRotary; Apr 02, 2013 at 07:22 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 02, 2013, 04:30 PM
Mini-Me is watching you...
Hemet, CA
Joined Aug 2010
516 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TTRotary View Post