Old Jun 08, 2016, 05:35 PM
Find More Posts by Taxus812
United States, CT, Windsor
Joined Apr 2014
369 Posts
Discussion
Looking for help setting my expecations for an old Enya 45BB

I got an OLD enya 45BB from a friend. It had years of carbon and castor buildup pretty much everywhere (but no rust at all) and still spun freely . It smelled like it was soaked in Remington gun oil (very distinct smell).

Anyway I got it cleaned up and got all the carbon and castor off (sure hope my wife doesn't go looking for her toothbrush in my toolbox).

I am still learning 2 strokes (especially vintage ones) so I was not sure what to expect. This is where I need your knowledge. I'm running and 11x6 APC prop with 15% wildcat fuel and an enya #3 glow plug.

The run
I ran the motor for the first tank slow and rich. As expected it ran a little hot and black sludge ran from just about everywhere. I realized I also need a muffler gasket (oil poured like water from the seam). I did cycles of 10 min run 10 min cool downs.. I also kept the rpm as close to 4000.

Second tank the sludge in the exhaust oil cleared quite a bit (bet by third tank it will be totally clear) so I started to lean it up and then adjust the air bleed.

I was able to get 9500 RPM WOT brought it down to about 9000 pm to put the run on the rich side of smooth (anything over 9200 got hot). As I get it run in I have noticed the temps are falling. Not sure it normal but seems just like breaking in. I decided to treat it that way.

Idol is about 2500 to 2700 reliably. I may be able to get a touch lower .

Transition is pretty good. The bleed air screw is pretty much all the way out of the hole however. It doesn't stall or sputter. It isn't a super fast transition however.

Is this good for an old motor ?