Shop our Airplanes Products Shop our Surface Products
Thread Tools
Old May 07, 2016, 09:40 AM
Axefly is offline
Find More Posts by Axefly
Registered User
South Africa
Joined Feb 2010
1,690 Posts
Discussion
Can I place my sensor right next to my fbl ?

Like so: ? Its not mounted yet its just a mock but the plan is to put it there, will there be any cons putting it there, Or must the satellite be some distance away from the fbl ?
Axefly is offline Find More Posts by Axefly
Last edited by Axefly; May 07, 2016 at 10:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 07, 2016, 11:22 AM
JetPlaneFlyer is online now
Find More Posts by JetPlaneFlyer
Grumpy old git.. Who me?
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
Aberdeen
Joined Mar 2006
15,041 Posts
It can go anywhere you like. The proximity of the sensor to the main FBL unit is irrelevant as long as it's close enough for the wire to reach. You could mount the sensor directly on top of the FBL unit if you wanted.
JetPlaneFlyer is online now Find More Posts by JetPlaneFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old May 07, 2016, 02:40 PM
Axefly is offline
Find More Posts by Axefly
Registered User
South Africa
Joined Feb 2010
1,690 Posts
Thanks JPL ! So glad i don't have to change the configuration
Axefly is offline Find More Posts by Axefly
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2016, 09:19 AM
Flying Pitcher is offline
Find More Posts by Flying Pitcher
Inertial Hydraulics Engineer
Joined Apr 2013
5,686 Posts
you could have just gotten the mini..no need to fiddle with additional wires unless of course you need FBL gov.

Btw, mini version seems plenty for 700. I did not experience any voltage drops. Running 2s lipo and two wire leads connected to mini kbar (promideler servos)
Flying Pitcher is offline Find More Posts by Flying Pitcher
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2016, 01:09 PM
JetPlaneFlyer is online now
Find More Posts by JetPlaneFlyer
Grumpy old git.. Who me?
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
Aberdeen
Joined Mar 2006
15,041 Posts
I prefer the full size, probably the main reason is that it has more servo connectors ports. When you need four for servos, two for a BEC, one for the ESC and another for a telemetry and more for Rx input (unless using sats) the mini with it's seven connectors doesnt have nearly enough to go around and needs Y-leads.

I hate using Y leads.
JetPlaneFlyer is online now Find More Posts by JetPlaneFlyer
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Align gPro FBL w/Spectrum Sat $oLD irishmatt18 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 1 Feb 23, 2016 11:59 AM
Discussion Is it okay to place my receiver inside my plane's battery bay? uninc4life2010 Electric Plane Talk 5 Jan 18, 2016 08:30 AM
Discussion So can we do the next war right? AustinTatious Life, The Universe, and Politics 34 Jun 25, 2009 02:41 PM
Discussion right place for my new thread AEOTech Indoor Pattern/F3P 0 Dec 29, 2007 08:25 PM
Discussion My F-10 needs repair; is Neu the right place for repairs rafaelABN NeuMotors 7 Jan 15, 2007 03:29 PM